1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Keyboard displays wrong characters

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by laurabot, Nov 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. laurabot

    laurabot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,

    I my laptop keyboard is now displaying incorrect characters after I cleaned it (just a wipe over with some window spray). I have bought a USB keyboard and am currently using that. For example:

    o=9o
    p='/0p
    i=8i

    Most keys are affected, even the enter/delete and number keys.

    Any idea what is happening? Have I completely broken it?

    Thanks

    Laura

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3069 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 226580 MB, Free - 71650 MB; D: Total - 11891 MB, Free - 2239 MB; F: Total - 305168 MB, Free - 228333 MB;
    Motherboard: Quanta, 30D2, 79.2E, None
    Antivirus: Lavasoft Ad-Watch Live! Anti-Virus Avira
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,234
    First Name:
    Cody
    Have you tried restarting the computer?
     
  3. laurabot

    laurabot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Yes I've restarted it a few times but no joy. Without using the USB keyboard or on screen keyboard I can't even log in.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,234
    First Name:
    Cody
    The Fn key might have been pressed while you were cleaning. Try hitting or holding it down for a few seconds and then releasing. I've had this problem with my laptop in the past and the fix was similar to this.
     
  5. laurabot

    laurabot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    hmm, well that changes the problem. If I press p I get '0p, if I press the fn key I then get '/* and I can toggle between the 2.

    This is very weird!

    Do you think a system restore would help?
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,234
    First Name:
    Cody
    No, I don't think a System Restore would help. I think it's an option that has been activated while cleaning the keyboard. So no fix after pressing the Fn key then?
     
  7. laurabot

    laurabot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    No, that didn't fix. Thanks for the advice though.
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,234
    First Name:
    Cody
    I'm still convinced it's some combination involving that key. Try the fix found HERE.
     
  9. Techyy

    Techyy

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    -- In laptops, try Pressing "Fn" + "Num lock" keys
     
  10. laurabot

    laurabot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I'm not sure which of the combinations worked but I am typing this on my laptop keyboard!!! Thank you so much, all the keys seem to be working now.

    Thank you so much for helping me out!
     
  11. Techyy

    Techyy

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    -- Awesome, am glad for you.. Have a happy surfing.....
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,234
    First Name:
    Cody
    Glad everything worked out. :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/962210

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice