Solved: Kingwin KF 1000BK

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

techmaster85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
352
Was looking at this bay which I currently have and see that it is only SATA I and II compatible, so the box says. Was curious if a SATA III 6GB/s connection still work? Could it be that the SATA III connection simply was not around yet? Seems to me like it should not make a bit of difference.

Thanks for any help
 

techmaster85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
352
I know the drives are backwards compatible, I was wondering if I will see SATA III GB/s speeds using this bay?
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
no the m/b needs to have sata3 sockets to run at sata3 speeds
 

techmaster85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
352
OK, I thougth this was pretty self explanitory but I guess not. Let me try again. I have a SATA3 6GB/s motherboard port, I have a Sata 3 6GB/s hdd. I see the Kingwin KF1000 is supposedly only supported to Sata II, was wondering if I hook up a Sata III cable to a Sata III port with a Sata III drive if I will see Sata III 6GB/s speeds or if the KF1000 will reduce it back down to Sata II speeds?
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
if the drive is connected to a sata 3 port i should expect it to work

i am not familiar with the bay
 

techmaster85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
352
Aparently not, but I am confused.

I hooked the SATA 3 drive up with a 3 cable and port, and thru the bay I get about 125144MB/s write and 125437 MB/s read. Basically the same results if I run without the dock. Now I am wondering if my mobo is not setup for Sata 3 or something. I get basically the same results if I use a Sata 2 3GB/s HDD on a standard cable and port.

Is this normal, or am I missing something? On my Sata 3 SSD, I get drastically better numbers, in the 538K write range using a Sata 3 port, cable, and drive.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
check there is not a jumper on the back of the drive limiting it to sata2
 

techmaster85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
352
I just tested this using Macrium Reflect V5 Free edition. Using a Sata 6GB/s port, cable and drive I was able to get around 950mb/s transfer rate using the bay. Without the bay directly connected to the mobo I got 2 seconds fater or around 980mb/s.

Very happy that this bay is Sata 6GB/s compatible. May need to go out and buy one more for 17 bucks at Fry's.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top