1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Label Not Found

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by fjc, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Win ME ver. 4.90.3000 Pent. II (0.25um) 360 Mhz
    Chipset Intel 440BX/ZX Rev 2
    BIOS ID: 09/09/1998-i-440BX-W83977-2A69KTG9C-00
    BIOS Type: Award Modular BIOS V4.51PG
    OEM SIGNON: TRM-P6B40-A4X-V1.05
    Super I/O: Winbond 977TF Rev 0 Found Port 3 Foh

    After upgrading to ME I found out I needed to upgrade the BIOS. I found an update but I needed to boot from DOS to update. Me does not give you that options so I searched the net (www.geocities.com/dos8me/) and found a program that would allow me dual option at boot up. I down loaded the program and installed it. It partially worked. On the first boot up I did get the option 1. Win 2. DOS, I chose Win and got the following message (The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\DISPLAY.SYS There is an error in your CONFIG.SYS file line 14) and then C:\> I rebooted, chose Win again and this time it went through. I tried it again the next day and again it went into Win on the second boot.
    Now for DOS it did not work. It gave me the following message (The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\CDROM\CDROM.SYS There is an error in your CONFIG.SYS file on line22) and then C:\>
    Since it did not work I decided to uninstall but I did not find it in the install/uninstall list so I deleted it and now it will not go into Win. At bootup it does the memory test, detects DMI pool data then it states "Starting WinME" and then it states "LABEL NOT FOUND"and then a string of figures [1;37;44mC:\[1;137;41m.[0m There is an arrow pointing left infront of every "[" but I do not have an arrow on my keyboard. No matter what I try the bottom line is LABEL NOT FOUND. If I press and hold Ctrl at bootup I get a choice of normal boot but when I select it it gives me the same string of figures listed above. If you go to the website listed above it tells you what the program changed in Win, which is Chinese to me. Reinstalling Win is not an option as in my ignorance I didn't save the old program. I hope someone can help and please be explicit as I am only a beginner but I can follow instructions even dough I don't know what I am doing. THANKS A MILLION !!!! PS I tried to boot from hard drive and from floppy but neither worked.
     
  2. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Need to undo what program from www.geocities.com/dos8me/ changed.
    Unable to open Win ME. I cannot restore. I can not open anything. Was able to do scandisk OK. Please read orig post LABEL NOT FOUND 06 Sep.
    THANKS
     
  3. Learner1

    Learner1

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Well,one time that happened to me but not in the same fashion(Geocities).I tried and tried to get system to read and it would'nt.I even switched around the jumper settings on hard drive to no avail.Sometimes (Depending on the PC,OS, and maybe just a little bit of a few other things) one can,(1) Unplug PC from wall power outlet (2) Remove battery from motherboard (3) Unplug power supply connector from hard drive. Now wait a couple of minutes and go back in the reverse order,CONNECT POWER SUPPLY TO HD,......INSERT BATTERY IN MOTHERBOARD SLOT......PLUG INTO WALL. Well some times this works but I'm not saying it wil in this case.I did this one time and it didn't affect anything at all.So I made a few more adjustments,restarted PC and nothing.So I turned it off.I came in from work the next evening and turned on PC to monkey with it for a little while and lo and behold,WINDOWS logo appeared on screen. well,I believe it will take a little more than I know about PC's to resolve your problem but look at it this way,...If you have to fdisk,you'll have a little more room on HD and mine even seemed to run a little more cleaner.
     
  4. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    I tried what you suggested but it did not work. Thanks anyway. I'll try anything!
     
  5. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Can you get into safe mode and the get rid of that in msconfig
     
  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Start the computer with a startup diskette and bring the computer to a command prompt. At the prompt type the following pressing Enter after each line:

    C:
    cd\
    ren autoexec.bat autoexec.old
    ren config.sys config.old

    Restart the computer and let us know the outcome.
     
  7. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    I am unable to get to safe mode. I can get A:\> and C:\> It can not find System File Manager. Want's me to install IFSHLP.SYS I am working through my second computer as the bad one does nothing at the moment. I tried to download IFSHLP.SYS from the net but could not find it. I got some inst how to do it using A:\> but have not found the download. Did you read the orig thread dated 06 SEP. NO LABEL FOUND Sorry about the double post, but this was my first time. THANKS
     
  8. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    I followed your inst. After ren autoexec.bat autoexec.old and ren config.sys config.old I got the same message "duplicate file name or file in use" and got the C:\> again. Thanks again !
     
  9. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Being an upgrade it will be difficult to indentify those entries. Edit the System.ini file to restore your computer to an early functions state:

    Bring the computer to a command prompt. At the command prompt type the following:

    Edit C:\Windows\System.ini

    Press Enter.

    If that command fails type the following:

    C:\Windows\Command\Edit C:\Windows\System.ini

    When the System.ini file opens, scroll down to the line that starts with Shell=.

    Modify that line to read as follows:

    Shell=Progman.exe

    Press Alt+F, then X. Save these changes. Restart the computer.

    The computer will boot to the Progman.exe (Program Manager). Select File from the menu, then Run. Tyre Msconfig in the box and click OK. Use the System Restore option to restore the computer to a functional state.

    Best wishes!
     
  10. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    JSntgRvr, I have done the switch to Program.exe before but the Program Manager does not come up. I believe the response was "can not find helper driver make sure IFSHLP.SYS is installed. I have been unable to download IFSHLP.SYS from the net although I have the entries to install it once I get it. Thanks!
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome.

    Per chance, if you tap the F 8 key while restarting, do you get a menu? If so, will safe mode load?
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I see we have a duplicate going :(

    I'm going to merge both threads, please keep replying to the same thread, otherwise we just have to ask the same questions ;)
     
  13. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Do you have the ME installation CD? Whats brand and model of your computer?

    If you are able to boot the computer to a command prompt, at the prompt type the following pressing enter after each line:

    C:
    dir *.cab /s

    Note the folder where these files will appear, For example, C:\Windows\Options\Install and post the path of this folder as it appear on screen, for example, C:\Windows\Options\Install.
     
  14. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    JSntgRvr, I have an ME upgrade CD. Computer brand KCS Comp. Mother Board
    TekramTechnology P6B40-A4X-i440BX Rev 1.0 More info on post #1. I tried the above entry but it goes so fast I can only report what's at the end:
    Directory of C:\WININST0.400
    Mini Cab 686,680 06-08-00 5:00p
    1 File(s) 686,680 bytes
    Total File Listed
    137 File(s) 172,880,652 bytes
    0 dir(s) 6,440.98 MB free
    Sorry I didn't get what you expected. I tried the entry removing the spaces and got "BAD COMMAND"
    I have seen the entry you mentioned above but can recall where, when, or how I got it. Do I have an option to remove and reinstall the update. As stated in POst #1 I didnot save the old programs Win95 and Win 98SE. I think I can get my hands on a WIN2000 program CD. There is nothing in the computer I am trying to save I just got started with it so I can start from scratch if possible. Thanks
     
  15. fjc

    fjc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Aca Candy, Have tried the F8 does not work. If you have the time please go to Post #1 and go to the geocities website listed and it tells you what the program changed in config. Thanks for merging boths threads
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/270673

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice