Solved: LAN and USB-WiFi Can't Connect - No Info From ipconfig /all

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

imnotlaughin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
4
Problem:
My USB wireless network adapter gets a limited connectivity message in the notification tray but no packets are being sent or recieved. It does, however, recognize my network on the available connections list - so it's not totally dead. When I switch to a wired connection I get "no connections available". This is the case even on a new PCI ethernet controller.

Details:
Problem happened after installing new memory and clearing the CMOS (to troubleshoot a problem). LAN is working on a fresh Windows install on a different hard drive. Therefore, I've rulled out a hardware failure as the source of the problem.

Device Manager does not list any problems. Everything is recognized. In Network Connections, three Local Area Connections are present and Windows recognizes when the ethernet cable is plugged in. The hardware lights on the wired NIC function properly.

Windows Network Diagnostis reports that "Windows couldn't automatically bind the IP protocol stack to the network adapter" and pings to IP addresses like 192.0.0.1 or 192.168.0.1 get a "transmit failed. General failure" message.

Everything is set to obtain IP addresses and DNS automatically. Also, I haven't knowingly changed any settings from the time it was working until it/they stopped working.

Ipconfig doesn't list any information. It just reads:
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name..............: Monolith
Primary Dns Suffix...:
Node Type...............: Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled...: No
WINS Proxy Enabled..: No
The network is up and running. Other machines are able to connect just fine.

Solutions Tried So Far:
  • Uninstalled antivirus software
  • Cleared the CMOS and reset defaults
  • Ensured that the NIC and USB controller are enabled in the BIOS
  • Reset winsock and tcp/ip using netsh commands
  • Updated LAN and wLAN drivers
  • Ran and ipconfig /release and /renew. Result: "The operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for this operation."
  • Attempted a System Restore, but it failed. Gave me an "unspecified error".
  • Flushed DNS
  • Installed a new PCI ethernet controller
System:
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Motherboard - EVGA x58 SLI 132-BL-E758
Memory - Kingston HyperX Genesis (3x4gb)
ISP - Comcast
Connection type - Cable
Modem - RCA DCM425C
Router - Netgear WNDR3700
Antivirus - AVG Free (until I ininstalled it)

Where I'm at:
I can't figure out why both NICs would be giving me trouble at the same time. It seems like Windows just can't handle anything trying to use TCP/IP no matter what I throw at it. Despite Windows knowing about the hardware and thinking everything is fine, it seems like it can't access it correctly to connect. I know it isn't a hardware issue, despite that being an obvious answer. I just don't know what is wrong.

Please help me.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
whenever , we have seen this in the past on the forum, more often then not it requires a re-install of windows
the adapters are in device manager - but not in ipconfig /all

there has been a couple of exceptions -
1) a few have been due to a security suite being on the PC, usually expired trail versions - Webroot has caused this a few times and AVG once to my knowledge on the forum
2) a re-install of the TCP/IP protocol

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

you seem to have covered pretty much most of the suggestions we would have gone through
did you cover all the tcp/ip reset commands - see below

you may want to check the services - see below
and also try a
sfc /scannow
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/1538-sfc-scannow-command-system-file-checker.html

this is a link to re-install the TCP/IP protocol - http://answers.vt.edu/kb/entry/2433/ but not sure how accurate it is , and have not tried personally ..... so beaware

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Status of Services

We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

To do this goto

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Type the following command
SERVICES.MSC

OR
Control Panel>
Administrative Tools>
Services>

then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
If the service is set to Started or Stopped
and
If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation


If any of those services are not started/running,
then right click on the service
then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

imnotlaughin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
4
Antivirus:
I was using AVG, but I figured that it might be causing the problem so uninstalling it was one of the first things I tried. Could it still be a potential cause?

scf /scannow:
I had already tried this before with no problems. No help.

Reinstalling TCP/IP:
No effect.

Services:
Everything was started and set to Auto except for Computer Browser which was stopped and set to Manual, and Network Connections which was started but Manual.

Computer Browser's dependencies:
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-...AAAAAAAAAlE/THoAczA8qCQ/s343/Dependencies.jpg

TCP/IP stack repair:
I had done this like a dozen times. Each one works fine except resetting IPv6 which says, "There's no user specified settings to be reset."
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
Antivirus:
I was using AVG, but I figured that it might be causing the problem so uninstalling it was one of the first things I tried. Could it still be a potential cause?
yes, and you need to use the removal tool


AVG Removal Tools
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover

Each one works fine except resetting IPv6 which says, "There's no user specified settings to be reset."
thats thecorrect response as ipv6 is not really used yet

otherwise looks like a Re-Installation

Reinstalling TCP/IP:
No effect.
How dif those instructions work out and what messages did you get during the process - and i will write up for the future
 

imnotlaughin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
4
How dif those instructions work out and what messages did you get during the process - and i will write up for the future
The process was pretty straight forward. I don't think it is the most clearly written because many of the steps are OS specific, but it doesn't take much to figure it out.

I don't remember any specific messages. I think the confirmation was pretty simple, if I remember right, and I didn't get any other messages along the way.
 

imnotlaughin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
4
Fixed:
So I ended up doing a repair install of Windows 7 SP1. I would rather not have done that, and I still don't know exactly what was wrong, but at least everything is working now. The process was pretty painless and - except for updates and drivers - all of my settings, files, and programs were left alone.

Thanks:
I appreciate your time. Thank you for helping. I'm always glad to know that there are people around who do so much for others.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
(y) thanks for the letting us know - this appears to be the most common way to resolve this issue
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top