1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: lan connected but cannot connect to internet using Vista

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jersan, Apr 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jersan

    jersan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I have a similar problem where Vista is not allowing me to connect Internet regardless of any browser though network connection is working fine.

    I tried pinging my own IP address and it failed:

    ping 192.168.1.129
    Pinging 192.168.1.129 with 32 bytes of data:
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.

    I understand this may be a firewall issue. But how do I turn-off as I already uninstalled Norton.
    Please advise.
     
  2. cybersloth

    cybersloth

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    did you use the norton removal tool to remove nortons?

    try uninstalling and reinstalling the driver for your NIC
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    Here's the link to the above mentioned Norton Removal Tool.

    That's probably all you need, but just in case here are some repairs to run if still having an issue after the NIC reinstall ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. jersan

    jersan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the tips. It seem I already uninstalled Norton and its modules. For some reason they are still active(which I can see under Firewall list) and there are no options to disable.

    Is there a way to clean up via Registry?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    1. Uninstall Norton. Done

    2. Download, install and run Symantec's Norton Removal Tool (see link above).

    3. If needed use Device Manager to uninstall your adapter; reboot and let Windows re-install the driver.

    4. If needed run the repairs given above.
     
  6. jersan

    jersan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    You guys rock!!!
    That worked and thanks again(y)(y)(y)
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :) You can mark this solved using the button at the upper left of the page.
     
  8. jersan

    jersan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Terry, I closed the thread and thanks again!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914590

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice