1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: LAN connection - Not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gxross, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gxross

    gxross Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Everyone,

    A very happy 2013 to all!

    For the past 3 years I have used a ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo M/B with a built in Atheros LAN chip AR 8121 running Windows XP SP3. For some reason, it stopped working today - "Limited or no connectivity".

    Device Manager doesn't show any X or !

    Shown below is the output for ipconfig /all

    Cable and ports on router have been checked.

    Any response would help!

    Thanks,
    George

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\ >ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ac-qcws
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E E
    thernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-E6-BA-10-4E-9F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.131.243
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
     
  3. gxross

    gxross Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I have Avast running on this system for ~2 years.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. gxross

    gxross Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Wayne - The problem resolved itself after resetting the router. Should have done this at the beginning, but the wireless connection for other PCs were working.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083269

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice