1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: LAN-Internet Problem- Windows 7

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jdsamstuff, Dec 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jdsamstuff

    jdsamstuff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Hi,

    Any help is appreciated!

    Son hit some keys and now the connection to the internet (Cable-Modem-Router) is not working. At the same time a second user account is no longer accessible (this is not so important).

    The other computer connected via router is connecting fine to the internet.

    I have tried diagnosing network problems and it came back with a message "LAN 2" is not enabled, I clicked "try to fix" but I can not tell if that has actually been fixed.

    I disabled and enabled the network card, but that didnt work, restarted computer all the standard things.

    The message on the status bar is "Not Connected- No connections are available"

    Can anyone help ?
     
  2. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
    start type system restore ...... restore to before sonny jim messed with keys
     
  3. jdsamstuff

    jdsamstuff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    I tried this, and after the system restore same problem.

    When I click on the network status and diagnose the problem it says "Local Area Connection 2 Adapter is disabled".

    I click on repair, but it seems the problem status remains "Detected", not fixed.

    Any ideas? Thank you
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is the network card enabled and error-free in Device Manager? Is the connection enabled in Network Connections?

    Please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. jdsamstuff

    jdsamstuff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Hi, I got it to work by deleting the network card adapter in the device manager, restarting the computer, and then using the windows network diagnostic.

    Thank you
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :) Good job fixing it that way.

    You can mark this solved using the [​IMG] button at the upper left of the page.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970399

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice