1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Landline problem.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by michaelrennie, Dec 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. michaelrennie

    michaelrennie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Apologies if this is the wrong thread.

    Over the last few days my telephone will only ring once. The call can be still be taken after the single ring if the caller has stayed on the line. The telephone runs in conjunction with a desktop PC and a wireless laptop off a Thompson Speedtouch router.

    Outgoing calls, no problem.

    I have plugged the telephone line into the test socket, and the telephone rings correctly, but of course I lose the Internet.

    I removed the router, & telephone rings correctly.

    I have put on another old router. Problem with single telephone ring still occurs.

    I have put in new filters throughout. No change,

    Has any member a solution as I have run out of ideas?
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    The router is probably set up to answer incoming calls (like fax) after one ring.
    Change the settings in the router!
     
  3. michaelrennie

    michaelrennie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Thanks for your interest.

    How do I check the router settings?
     
  4. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You log into the router via your browser.
    The IP address for it should be on the bottom of the router.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,452
    First Name:
    Derek
    how many extension phones have you got
    have you got a sky box plugged in as well

    unplug all extensions & see if the main phone with the router works. If it does, then plug in each extension phone one at a time until you find the faulty one
     
  6. michaelrennie

    michaelrennie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    No sky box.

    My phone is plugged into the main socket, and my router into extension. All have new filters.

    Are you saying take them both from the main socket? Trouble is I would have to use a long ethernet cable from router to the PC box.

    Would a test without the ethernet cable be OK?
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,452
    First Name:
    Derek
    try plugging phone & router into same extension through a filter & don't have a filter on the main socket
    see if it works properly then
    if it doesn't then it is most likely that you have a crossed or broken wire in the extension.
     
  8. michaelrennie

    michaelrennie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Will try this.

    Do I have filters on both the telephone and router after the split, or will one filter suffice before splitting the two leads?
     
  9. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,452
    First Name:
    Derek
    normally all you need is ONE filter on the end of the extension socket where the phone & router plug in

    the filter should have one socket for router lead & one for telephone cable
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,452
    First Name:
    Derek
  11. michaelrennie

    michaelrennie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    OP here

    Problem solved. The DSL cable into the router was faulty.

    Thanks everyone who posted suggestions.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Landline problem
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,569
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082746

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice