Solved: Laptop cannot connect to internet. Unable to connect to 10.1.1.1. too

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Clubwii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
7
Hi everyone,

I have three computers connected wirelessly to the same router. Two of them are working perfectly and are able to connect to the router via 10.1.1.1.

One of them cannot. It can't connect to 10.1.1.1. or to any page on the internet. Internet Explorer comes up with the message 'Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage'. Firefox gives a similar message.

Here is the info that I got with ip config/all:

Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : President-Eden
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FA-13-B2-34
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8c44:1133:d06f:871b%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.6(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998842
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-2A-E9-71-00-23-8B-5A-50-68
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8072 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-8B-5A-50-68
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7D24ADEE-76B7-4F0F-924E-C9346B289
701}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{47E871BA-CDDA-4856-AAEE-C7E93332E
1CF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

suggestions anyone? thanks :D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
I'd suggest enabling DHCP on that wireless connection so we can see if you're actually connecting.


Configure DHCP for Windows Vista & Windows 7

  1. Click on the Start menu, and select Control Panel.
  2. Click on Network and Internet. (Skip this step if you do not see this Control Panel item.)
  3. Click on Network and Sharing Center.
  4. Click on Manage network connections.
  5. Right click on Connection you wish to change and choose Properties. If Windows say it needs your permission to continue, click Continue.
  6. Select Internet Protocol Version 4(TCP/IPv4) and click Properties.
  7. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
  8. Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
  9. Click OK to close the TCP/IP Properties window.
  10. Click OK to close the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  11. Click Close to close the Network Connections window.
  12. Click Close to close the Control Panel window.
  13. Restart your computer.



I'd like to see if this wireless connection can even see the network

Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, paste a screen shot of the main screen here.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

Clubwii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
7
I followed all of the steps you gave me about the DNS. When I opened IE it still said 'IE cannot display the webpage'.

I've attached the screenshot as well.
 

Attachments

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Is your SSID DLINK or WiFi?

It appears that your computer has a good connection to the DLINK wireless network.


Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.


IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 74.125.45.100

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

Clubwii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
7
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : President-Eden
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FA-13-B2-34
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8c44:1133:d06f:871b%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 11 January 2010 11:15:33 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 11 January 2010 12:15:32 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998842
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-2A-E9-71-00-23-8B-5A-50-68
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8072 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-8B-5A-50-68
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7D24ADEE-76B7-4F0F-924E-C9346B289
701}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{47E871BA-CDDA-4856-AAEE-C7E93332E
1CF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\President Eden>ping 10.1.1.3
Pinging 10.1.1.3 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.1.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.1.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.1.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.1.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Ping statistics for 10.1.1.3:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\President Eden>ping 10.1.1.1
Pinging 10.1.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Ping statistics for 10.1.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Users\President Eden>ping 10.1.1.1
Pinging 10.1.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=136ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Reply from 10.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=150ms TTL=255
Ping statistics for 10.1.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 150ms, Average = 72ms

C:\Users\President Eden>ping 74.125.45.100
Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=303ms TTL=45
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=302ms TTL=45
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=302ms TTL=45
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=306ms TTL=45
Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 302ms, Maximum = 306ms, Average = 303ms

C:\Users\President Eden>ping yahoo.com
Pinging yahoo.com [69.147.114.224] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 time=308ms TTL=44
Reply from 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 time=308ms TTL=44
Reply from 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 time=529ms TTL=44
Reply from 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 time=410ms TTL=44
Ping statistics for 69.147.114.224:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 308ms, Maximum = 529ms, Average = 388ms
 

Clubwii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
7
My SSID is DLink. The wireless router is in the next room from my computer.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1,862
You ma also want to check your Internet Options.

Internset Options settings, through Browser, Tools or Control Panel.
Click Internet Options.
Select the Connections Tab.
Nothing should be entered in the Dialup and VPN settings box.
Never Dial a connection should be selected.

In the Local Area Netwrok settings box at the bottom of the page, click the LAN settings button.
"Automatically detect settings" should be checked.
Click OK and OK
 

Clubwii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
7
That didn't work either dlsayremn,
I can't get a connection with Firefox, Itunes, Steam either. Anything using the internet doesn't work at all
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
You may have a firewall or Internet security application blocking your access. You have a good connection to the Internet, you can ping web sites by name.
 

Clubwii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
7
Yep, it was my anti-virus software. lI'm running Trend Micro 2009. I think some of the software for internet options is missing and stopping me from connecting to the internet.

Thanks,
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Well, it's doubtless the Trend firewall, you'll need to configure that to allow access.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top