1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Laptop can't connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jieyu4, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    I have LAN set up at home where there is one Desktop PC and my laptop. They both have an ethernet cable connected to them. The computer, which is where i'm typing from, works fine; but the laptop cannot connect to the internet. The little icons on the side with the computers says "local area connection connected," but the only thing that it let's me do is share files with this computer.
    Help plz T.T

    edit: by the way, both of them worked three days ago, and i don't remember changing anything on it. and the day before it stopped working both computers couldn't get online for like 5 hrs
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Can you tell us how they're connected? Do you have a broadband router? Broadband modem? Make/model of either or both of these? Is the cable connected between the two machines, or to some other box?
     
  3. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    uh i think it's a broadband modem, Motorola SB5120 Cable Modem, then there is a wire that connects to a router, TEW-432-BRP, then that two wires, one that goes to the computer the other goes to the laptop
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What version/patch level of Windows are you running on the laptop?

    OK, on the desktop and the laptop, let's see the result of this:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  5. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Elia>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home-2f463c9235
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : had1.or.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : had1.or.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-69-1B-34
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 2007年1月17日 下午 02:34:49
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 2007年1月17日 下午 03:34:49

    C:\Documents and Settings\Elia>
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Which machine is this, the working or non-working one?
     
  7. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    the non-working one, should i also do one for the working one?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,792
    First Name:
    Terry
    You probably don't need to do the working one. Please try the following; depending on the results JohnWill may have the solution in his next post. :)

    Open a command prompt window as above and

    1. On the PC open a Command window and type
    ping 192.168.1.1

    Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

    IF you got replies,
    2. ping 66.94.234.13 (or any other internet address you know)

    Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

    If you got replies,
    3. ping www.yahoo.com (or any other internet name)

    Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?
     
  9. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    ping 192.168.1.1 -- packets: sent=4, recieved=0, lost=4 (100% loss)


    i'm guessing that's a packet lost
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,792
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yeah, that's packets lost OK. Sure didn't expect that! Your ipconfig /all looks real good except for the question marks in the lease dates.

    Getting a good IP configuration from the router but failing to ping it could mean a partially bad cable or a firewall problem.

    But, but, you're able to file share??? I'm confused; where are you John?

    Try pinging each computer from the other. Your above ipconfig shows that the bad computer has IP 192.168.1.100. So from the good computer ping 192.168.1.100.

    Use ipconfig to find the good computer's address and ping it from the bad computer.

    Oh, and if the good computer's IP is not 192.168.1.x, then show us the ipconfig /all please.
     
  11. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    they both say packets lost

    and the question marks on the lease dates is probably because it's some chinese characters
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,792
    First Name:
    Terry
    You can't ping in either direction, and you can't ping the router from one computer, but you can file share????

    I'd suggest concentrating on the "bad" computer--it has a firewall blocking (some) access or the cable is bad or the port on the router is bad. If you have or had a 3rd party firewall on that machine, that is the likely cause. Uninstall it. If you have already uninstalled it, probably a piece was left behind. Go to the supplier's web site and see if they have some tricks or tools to completely uninstall it.

    Try a different cable. Try a different router port. Hope that JohnWill spots the problem. :)
     
  13. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    i have tried switching the ports and cables but that didn't help and as for the firewall i got no clue if it's a 3rd party's because i don't ussually try to fix my own computer
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'm totally confused. I think maybe a HijackThis log so we can see what is running might be a good idea. :)
     
  15. jieyu4

    jieyu4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    umm now the laptop won't even get shared files from the computer, but it still says that it's connected


    but the computer can still get stuff from the laptop O.O
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536106

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice