1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Laptop harddrive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ezymony, Nov 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ezymony

    ezymony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    I bought an old hp n3210 it booted up ok ran the hp diagnostic it said hd was failing. The old hd is a 4.8 gig hitachi I got a new seagate 60 gig and put in it now it sticks on the auto detecting ide devices. There is no jumper on the old drive so I didn't put one on the new one
    Anyone have any ideas I don't have but a few dollars in the laptop just wanted to get it running for my Granddaughter for Christmas..
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Are you able to access the bios setup? You may have to make a change there for the larger drive.
     
  3. ezymony

    ezymony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    I can put the old drive in and get into the bios but it hangs up with the new drive and won't let me into bios.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Check the jumper. You may need to use it with the larger drive.
     
  5. ezymony

    ezymony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    Thanks AcaCandy I have been on hp help forums it looks like the notebook has s 10 gig limit. Do you think I could divide the large drive up in fdisk? I don't know haw many partitions is allowed on 1 harddrive.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    If the drive itself is the limitation, and the bios won't see anything larger, then splitting it isn't going to help as the bios must see the whole drive first.
     
  7. ezymony

    ezymony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    Thanks for the help looks like i'm stuck with a 60 gig hd I cant use I should had done more checking before i bought it.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    It would appear that way :( Research before hand is good.

    Perhaps you can return it? or sell it on EBay?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/773390

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice