1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: laptop only has 1 Antennal wire?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by paulb100, Jun 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    is this normal?

    Acer Aspire 5733 connects at 65Mbps over wireless-N and only has 1 ariel/antenna internally (but has 2 ports)...does this effect range?

    even my 6 year old wireless-G laptop has 2 ariels

    thanks
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Antennas are usually cut to the required length that is
    required for the frequencies they operate on.
    So range would more be determined by the power of the
    reciever/transmitter hardware.
    Having only one antenna should not really affect your range.
    Your wireless G laptop may have also had a wireless/bluetooth
    combo card/hardware that required another antenna.
     
  3. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    thanks leroys1000

    there was no bluetooth or anything other than wireless-G on old laptop.. its the first laptop ive seen with 1 ariel... and ive been inside many!!

    my other sister has an old cheap celeron laptop and it has 2 wires and connects at 300Mbps...

    2 be honest if it doesnt affect range/signal quality in rooms then im not so bothered about the speed
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Some smaller wireless cards use an antenna printed on the circuit board.
    Looks kind of like a square zigzag pattern made out of the traces.
     
  5. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    ahh - it may have one as a 2nd one because it works in 40mHz mode (135Mbps)...you would think it wouldnt if it had just 1 ariel am i right?
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    It's running at 40 because you are connected to wireless N.
    If you connect to G it will be slower.
     
  7. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    I know, Im saying i didnt think 40mhz would be possible on 1 antenna...obviously is though
     
  8. diolemo

    diolemo

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I have the same laptop and am about to swap the wireless card out for an Intel Ultimate N 6300 and that requires 3 antenna. I'm gonna fit an additional 2. I will let you know the results with and without 3 antenna once it is setup.
     
  9. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    thanks :)
     
  10. diolemo

    diolemo

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Tested with a Cisco/Linksys E4200 router and the Acer Aspire 5733 (Using Atheros AR5B125).

    High Signal Area

    2 antenna = 6.7 MiB/s RX 6.5 MiB/s TX 0.9/2.3/1.4
    1 antenna = 6.6 MiB/s RX 6.0 MiB/s TX 0.9/2.7/1.1

    Low Signal Area

    2 antenna = 4.5 MiB/s RX 2.8 MiB/s TX 1.0/51.9/3.9
    1 antenna = 2.8 MiB/s RX 2.7 MiB/s TX 1.0/26.5/2.1

    The transfer rates are average throughput using SAMBA and measured with Netlimiter. The numbers at the end are the min/max/avg for 100 ICMP packets between the laptop and the router.

    The new Intel Ultimate-N 6300 does 30 MiB/s RX/TX actual throughput.

    If you are thinking about adding an antenna or replacing the card then these might be useful.
     
  11. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    thanks for that...I wont be adding one

    did it improve signal/range?
     
  12. diolemo

    diolemo

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    The main difference is that the speed was greater at longer range. I don't know if it increased the range outright though.
     
  13. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,836
    ok thanks very much for sharing your findings with me... I really appreciate it, it something ive been wanting to know
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1057242