1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Laptop shows as connected but Wifi doesn't work

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by AcMaurice, Jan 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi there,

    My home wireless has been working for awhile. Now, however, my laptop just says "connected to wireless network" but I can't access the internet. The internet still works when I'm plugged in however. In other locations, my wireless laptop works fine.
    - I tried resetting the router Linksys, Cisco to default settings so now it just says "Linksys" as opposed to the name it used to have.
    - I tried turning my laptop on/off.

    Can someone help please??

    Thank you in advance. :)
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:
    Make and model of modem and router ??
    Just for starters,let's see
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    This will let us see how the pc views it's network environment.
    When it stopped working,any software/hardware changes ?
    If you boot up in safe mode with networking,any differrence ?
     
  3. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi Pedroguy,

    Thank you so so much for your response. I shall try what you suggested as soon as I get home & will paste the results. Should I use those commands while plugged in or wirelessly?

    I have not tried connecting in safemode yet.
    As for any recent changes, the only thing I can think of is that my boyfriend's father recently visited and plugged in his laptop (from France) to be able to use the internet.

    Again, thank you so much for your help! [​IMG]

    AcMaurice
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    If this is a problem only with wireless then the ipconfig and pings should be on the wireless connection.
    On your other question,And when he unplugged,no wireless connection ?
    In XP
    Start/my network places/view network connections/right click on wireless connection/properties/wireless networks
    Delete all profiles.Here is a summary of this action.
    1. For wireless connections, remove all the stored wireless profiles and search for networks. You'll have to enter the encryption key again, which is sometimes the issue for connection problems.
     
  5. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hello Pedroguy,

    Thank you again so much for your help. I really do appreciate it.
    As for my boyfriend's father's laptop - I was not able to try.
    The router is a linksys cisco model#wrt54g2v1
    I am pasting the information you requested below. I obtained this information while not hardwired.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Office_E67>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gtarralle
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-BE-5A-54

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-7E-1A-24
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.139
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 01, 2010 1:09:00 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 02, 2010 1:09:00 A
    M

    C:\Documents and Settings\Office_E67>ping 192.168.1.139

    Pinging 192.168.1.139 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.139: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=48
    Reply from 192.168.1.139: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=48
    Reply from 192.168.1.139: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=48
    Reply from 192.168.1.139: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.139:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Office_E67>ping192.168.1.1
    'ping192.168.1.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Office_E67>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Office_E67>ping 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Office_E67>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    Thank you again. :eek:
    I hope I can fix this...I really don't know what went wrong.
     
  6. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    I forgot to mention that I also deleted all the recorded preferred names but my laptop wireless connection still says that I am connected.
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Give this a try :
    Stack repair for XP and Vista.
    Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following netsh commands..

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi Pedroguy,

    Thanks again for your help. I tried what you suggested with no luck. I also tried connecting another laptop to this wireless network and the same thing happened: says connected but I can't seem to access the internet.

    Both laptops work in other wireless networks.

    Any other suggestions? I really appreciate it.:)
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    Failure to get replies when pinging the router (ping 192.168.1.1) is most often a firewall issue. But getting that with two computers, which both work on other wireless networks, make a firewall issue very unlikely.

    Could be wireless interference. Do you detect any other networks? Try channels 1, 6 and 11 to see if there is any difference.

    Could also be a failed router. They don't always fail is ways that are easy for us to understand.
     
  10. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi TerryNet,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my post.
    I do detect other networks but because they are secured, I can't try accessing them.

    I apologize for the lack of knowledge, but how to I change channels?

    Thanks again:)
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    The Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector or Gadget will show on one page all the networks, including the channel.

    Change channels by logging in to the router, navigating to the wireless section and selecting a different channel.
     
  12. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi TerryNet,

    I wanted to thank you for your help. Nothing worked so I bought a new router and still can't connect & will be starting a new thread.
    I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to read my post and help me solve it :)
     
  13. AcMaurice

    AcMaurice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi Pedroguy

    I wanted to thank you for your help. Nothing worked so I bought a new router and still can't connect & will be starting a new thread.
    I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to read my post and help me solve it :)
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/899045

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice