1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Laptop shows connected to wifi network but I cannot access the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Madjo, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Madjo

    Madjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hey,
    I just got an acer laptop computer from India. It was connecting fine there on a dail up network however I am having trouble connecting to the wireless network in London. The network status shows connected with a strong signal however I get check network connections message when I try to use the internet. Can you please help?
    Thanks

    MadJo
     
  2. Necratis

    Necratis

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Are you able to access the internet but just not surf? For example, can a program of yours that would have an update feature use that feature to download an update from the internet? If this is the case, go to your browser and change your LAN network settings to "No Proxy" detection. Apply and restart browser. Also, make sure the DNS entries are the same for your device as are on the router, but most likely you are using auto detect. Is this router you are using a router controlled by you? If it is a public wifi network, they may have certain settings you need before you can surf the internet on their network. What utility are you using to connect to the wifi, is it the windows default or are you using an Acer program sent with the laptop?
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    I will move to the networking forum, please do the following

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    {Ping Tests}

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:

    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    --

    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP

    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Madjo

    Madjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hey,
    Thanks for the prompt reply. These were the result of the tests

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\BPCL>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LX0065
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : corp.borl.com
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : corp.borl.com
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-65-A5-2D-46
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b4eb:e300:72ad:f9d8%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.14(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 01 May 2010 16:11:25
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 02 May 2010 16:11:25
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998429
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-D8-18-7E-00-1E-EC-C5-49-DC
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82567LM Gigabit Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-22-5F-90-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{C1D53459-DFB2-4680-8391-3979FFD58
    431}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 24:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7CB1BF01-B3B8-4E6F-90F5-8C6FE40CD
    B32}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\BPCL>
     
  5. Madjo

    Madjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    C:\Users\BPCL>Ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [209.85.229.104] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.85.229.104: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.229.104: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.229.104: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.229.104: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 209.85.229.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 31ms, Maximum = 48ms, Average = 39ms
    C:\Users\BPCL>Ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 49ms, Average = 14ms
    C:\Users\BPCL>Ping 209.191.93.53
    Pinging 209.191.93.53 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 209.191.93.53:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    C:\Users\BPCL>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    I would suspect a firewall is blocking as you can ping google all OK
    this IP 209.191.93.53 also times out for me - so i suspect and issue on the internet - anyway the fact you can ping google.com proves you connected to the internet

    What firewalls have you on the PC, Norton, Mcafee etc ? - Turn them off - or disable and see if you can now connect
     
  7. Madjo

    Madjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    You suspect right. Thanks a ton :)
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,934
    if its all working now - with the firewall set up to allow you through, please mark solved - button at top of your first post, otherwise post back the exact make and version of firewall you have ..
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920386