1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Laptop wireless connection fail strong signal

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pyewhacker, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pyewhacker

    pyewhacker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi there.I seem to have a similar problem to thread http://forums.techguy.org/networking/700062-laptop-wireless-card-says-connected.html . Packets being sent none received.Strong signal,no firewall.I have tried resetting router (Sitecom Wl-173 ) to factory default and re-entered profile in usb adapter to no avail.Had been working fine previously,any suggestions? Thanks

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LAPTOP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Sitecom wireless Network USB Adapter 54G WL-117
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F6-2A-97-AA
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


    C:\>
     
  2. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    This makes it pretty obvious why its not working

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


    You aren't using dhcp from the router but you did a static assignment in your nics tcp/ip properties but forgot to put the gateway ip address in.
     
  3. pyewhacker

    pyewhacker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    thank you,sanity returns,stupidity confirmed
     
  4. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Naw just a mistake from overwork and under sleep :)
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702400

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice