1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Laptop won't connect wirelessly.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lauren27, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have a toshiba satellite pro L300 - 26P with Windows Vista.

    My laptop won't connect wirelessly to my sky router.
    Everytime I take the ethernet cable out, the internet doesn't work, yet it still says that its connected.
    Firstly I thought it was a problem with the router. I have rang up the sky help line twice and have been on the phone to them for more than two hours trying to fix it. The last time I called they said they had tried everything they could think of but it simply wouldn't connect. They then said it might be a problem with my laptop.
    I have had no trouble connecting to wireless networks before and my housemate can connect to the router I am trying to use so there is nothing wrong with it.

    I have tried the following things;
    1. Resetting the router
    2. Diagnosing and repair
    2. Deleting the network and installing it again
    3. System restore
    4. Changing the connection channels

    I know a fair but about computers but don't know enough to go into the advanced settings and start changing things as I don't want to make it worse. But I have been having this problem since December so I would really appreciate any help as I don't really want to buy a new laptop.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    lets see an ipconfig /all when on ethernet and working
    then an ipconfig /all when on wireless only
    also lets see an xirrus screen shot

    what firewall do you have - norton , mcafee

    also try a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    This is the ipconfig /all when on ethernet and working;

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D2-57-4B-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a4dd:19cb:72c4:71af%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24 January 2011 14:43:16
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25 January 2011 14:43:16
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201336018
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-42-E5-7A-00-1E-33-B2-B1-60

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-B2-B1-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f002:a157:a902:dda1%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24 January 2011 14:43:34
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25 January 2011 14:43:34
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167779891
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-42-E5-7A-00-1E-33-B2-B1-60

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Home
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Lauren>


    This is it without the cable in:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D2-57-4B-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a4dd:19cb:72c4:71af%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24 January 2011 14:43:16
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25 January 2011 14:43:16
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201336018
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-42-E5-7A-00-1E-33-B2-B1-60

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-B2-B1-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Home
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Lauren>
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    there are lots of channels on 6 - i would log into the router and change the wireless channel to channel 11

    we are also seeing issues with the Atheros AR5007EG and wpa security
    so while logged into the router - take off the wireless security and see if it now connects
     
  5. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    TCP/IP stack repair option results


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>
    C:\Windows\system32>








    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    Reseting Interface, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>






    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  6. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have uploaded a picture of the security settings for my router but don't know how to change these settings, (if these are the security settings you are referring too)
    It keeps saying click on a radio button but I don't know/see them.

    Went on it again and it won't let me change any settings.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      39.1 KB
      Views:
      446
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    no they are not the settings - you need to goto the wireless section on the router

    make and exact model of router

    re tcp/ip
    you need to run as administrator - or you need to run in safemode and as administrator

    see post
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.
     
  8. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Ok I managed to find the security settings, I took them off and now I can finally connect.

    The only problem now is that the router has now become an unsecure connection so I'm worried that anyone else can use it.

    Also if I try to put a password on it, it disconnects and it says that the settings on this computer does not match the settings on the router and it does not let me connect to it.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    It may work (with WPA or WPA2) if you go into Device Manager, right click on the wireless adapter, update driver and let Windows search the web.

    Or, it may work if you install the latest wireless driver from Toshiba.

    Or, it may work with WEP encryption.

    You may have to delete your wireless profile (in Manage wireless connections) before you will get the proper prompt to input your key or passphrase.

    Please let us know exactly which of these you try and which, if any, works, as we are trying to gather information that will be useful to others.
     
  10. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    OK I updated the wireless adapter on the device manager.

    I then went on manage wireless network connections, clicked on the network so it brought up the properties, then went onto secirity to set up the password.
    I changed it from 'no authentication' to both WPA2-Personal and WPA-Personal, entering the password I originally got for the router and a completely different password (just to see if it would work) but then it would instantly disconnect me.

    I then clicked on the little icon in the bottom right to try to connect again, but next to the network it says "the settings saved for this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network" and doesn't give me the option to connect to it.

    I then tried with the WEP encryption but it says that I am trying to access a security protected network, even though it is an unsecure network and doesn't connect.
     
  11. lauren27

    lauren27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I managed to fix it!

    Literally all I did was delete the connection I had before, change the security settings from WPA/WPA2 mixed mode(Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key) to WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy), entered the password I originally got from sky and it connected!

    Now lets just hope it stays that way!

    Thank you very much for your help! : D
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    Delete the wireless profile. Then try to connect. It should connect (if the network is unsecured) or prompt you for the key.

    EDIT: no longer needed. :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976450