1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: laptop wont start up but has power

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by QLo, Jan 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    I have an hp pavilion dv5 w/vista, when I try to pwer it up it starts and I can hear the fan but after about 15 seconds it all stops. the lights on the keyboard stay on but nothing happens.

    honestly I already gota new laptop I just want to get the music and files off that computer. luckily I already got my pictures off of there before it went down.

    I do not have any disks etc... I found the paperwork it came with it said I should have downloaded them.. oops

    I tried unplugging the battery and restarting but it still does the same thing

    any ideas? thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    take the battery and ac adapter out - hold the power switch on for 60seconds

    - try safemode
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode - see if that works
     
  3. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    hi. thank you. but it didn't help. its a dv7, not dv5 I just realized. tried your instructions a few times but it didn't work. nothing comes up on the screen at all.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if all you want is to copy the data - try this
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    UBUNTU Stand Alone CD

    NOTE : version Ubuntu 12.04

    It may be possible to boot from another Operating System
    This will at least test the Hardware and also see if you can see the Harddrive and possibly get data off.

    If you have another PC with a cdwriter and spare CD
    goto http://www.ubuntu.com/ and download the ISO http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download

    You can also run from a USB device now - if the Machine supports booting off a USB Stick
    http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download

    full details are here (Note this is for version 9 - so the start up options are slightly different )
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...backup-files-from-your-dead-windows-computer/

    click on the image "download ubuntu"
    Select a location
    then begin download
    Save the file onto your PC – remember where you saved it – so you can find it again to create the image bootable CD.

    You do NOT copy the ISO file onto a CD - you have to use the ISO to create a bootable CD
    The CD creator software you have on the PC may have an option to create an image from an ISO
    If not - use this free program http://www.imgburn.com/ - Choose the option Write image file to disc
    OR
    you can use this stand alone ISO Burner to burn the ubuntu onto CD ftp://terabyteunlimited.com/burncdcc.zip

    When the UBUNTU CD boots - you will see a screen - with Language on the left panel and two option images labelled

    == > Try ubuntu
    == > Install ubuntu

    You can try Ubuntu without making any changes to your computer, directly from this CD

    Use "Try ubunto" ONLY. This option will run from the CD and not install onto your harddrive - be careful, if you do install onto the PC - you will wipe the data and software OFF your hard drive.., so repeat, only use option 1

    Now you should see a UBUNTU desktop
    This at least proves the main parts of the PC are working

    NOTE: if you only see a black screen - then this is a known issue, and can be resolved by using the following:-
     
  5. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    ugh. I downloaded but dont have a blank cd big enough to burn it on the only one I have is 700 and it is 743. on pause for now.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    The ISO will burn onto a normal size CD
    are you using the correct software as posted - you do NOT copy the ISO - create a bootable volume using the software
     
  7. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    I don't know how to do that/or know what means. I tried following the few different ways above but none worked. I got as far as burning with the last option and that's where it told me the cd wasn't big enough.

    thank you for your patience.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try this
     
  9. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    using imgburn, it still said its too big for cd, I just told it to burn until it was full. burning now ill try after
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    that version said it was going to take 1hr20min to download? when I click that link there are 20+ choices to use. I chose the first one but does that download time seem right?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    its just climbing in time. over 3 hrs now???
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you cannot normally trust those times - see how it goes
     
  15. QLo

    QLo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    ok thanks. first one I downloaded took only 8 minutes
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086122

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice