1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Large group of "dead"/"stuck" pixels

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MurderCookEat, May 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MurderCookEat

    MurderCookEat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    I've searched around the forums and all I can seem to find are people with one or two dead pixels (the absolute max I saw was 8). On the left side of my monitor, I have an extremely large amount of dead pixels. It's about the size of two quarters. It started out small (as a single pixel - then a single line - then a large blob). I've tried just about everything to get rid of it. I've tried massaging it out, using websites/software like www.jscreenfix.com, to no avail. I really don't have the money for a new monitor. Any ideas? Thanks!

    Here is an image:[img=http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/5543/img2729c.th.jpg]
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,018
    Hook up a different monitor to make sure it's not the video card going, and if it's good on another monitor, try setting this monitor back to factory conditions. Basically reset the display totally. :\

    Only thing i can suggest... =\
     
  3. MurderCookEat

    MurderCookEat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Thank you for the swift response! Unfortunately, I don't have another monitor to which I can hook it up. It can't be the video card though because that was recently replaced (with a new piece of hardware). I have also tried resetting the display back to factory settings, which also didn't work.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,018
    Umm...just a shot in the dark here...try updating the drivers on the video card? By any chance another tower to hook the monitor up to then? Haha.
     
  5. MurderCookEat

    MurderCookEat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Haha, I've done both of those as well. Video card's drivers are up-to-date and the monitor still displays the pixels when hooked up to a different computer. =[
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It has to be either the monitor or the card. You probably don't want to go out and buy either until you are sure which it is. Software is unlikely to be able to help at all in this situation.

    EDIT: Then it's the monitor or the cable. Get new ones.
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,018
    It's either the cable or the monitor actually if it's doing it while hooked up to a different computer.

    So either replace the cable (possible fix) or replace the monitor entirely (guaranteed fix).

    Please mark this thread as "Solved". =)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/825543