1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: LCD power requirements

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bimfi, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bimfi

    bimfi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    I am in the process of building a PC to ship to the Philippines. The voltage there 220 vac, 60hz. I know that I will have to switch the PS to 230v, but what about the LCD monitor? From all that I've read so far, most LCDs can accommodate 120 and 220 volts and automatically switch to 220 vac when plugged in. But, is this true? I don't want to spend a couple hundred bucks to have it fried when plugged in. Any comments and suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Hmm. At least my Samsung Syncmaster works here in Finland where we have 220(230) V wall output. Don't know if it's some EU version or such, tho.
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,928
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Check the specifications for whatever specific monitors you are considering. The AC operating voltage should be listed in a detailed spec sheet.
     
  4. bimfi

    bimfi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    You're right. After checking specs on the manual, I found that they auto range anywhere from 95 -230 vac. On another note, I also found that a lot of inkjet printers are built the same way. Just food for thought.
     
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,928
    First Name:
    Chuck
    A lot of products are now using Switch Mode power supplies that are much more efficient and weigh less than the older linear supplies that use big iron core transformers. Its probably cheaper for the manufacturers to build a lot of a single version of a Switch Mode supply that can handle any input voltage than smaller quantities each of different versions for different input voltages.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/757326

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice