Solved: Limited connectivity/repair problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
This morning when I booted up my PC, I noticed that I had the limited or no connectivity icon in the sys tray. I tried to repair the connection but Windows couldn't renew my IP address. I also tried plugging in a wireless USB adaptor but that had the same problem.

After 5/10 minutes of having the no connectivity icon, the wireless adaptor did connect and I was then able to repair the LAN connection. Now everytime I boot up, I have to wait 10 minutes before I can repair the connection.

Any one know whats happened or how I can fix it?!
 

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
Just to add, a friend lent me his router to test and I have the same problem with that. I didn't install anything new the night before so I'm lost to what could of happened.

Any help would be gratefully recieved.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
5
I have the same problem. After doing some research online, I found out it was just a false alert, and you should still be able to connect to the internet.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Try booting in Safe Mode with Networking and using a wired connection, see if it still occurs.

This is not normal, BTW. :)
 

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
Just tried booting to safe mode, and I'm getting the same problem. It's definitely not a false alert because I can't get online while I have the limited connectivity status.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
49
I would try to connect your computer directly to your modem first to see if the problem is with the router. If it connects fine, I would then perform a power cycle on the modem and router by unplugging the modem and router from the ac power and then plugging in the modem first, wait 30 seconds, plug in the router and wait another 30 seconds and see if you can get on the internet then. If there are still issues, I would also look up the latest firmware for your router and upgrade it to make sure its not a bug in the router.
 

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
I would try to connect your computer directly to your modem first to see if the problem is with the router. If it connects fine, I would then perform a power cycle on the modem and router by unplugging the modem and router from the ac power and then plugging in the modem first, wait 30 seconds, plug in the router and wait another 30 seconds and see if you can get on the internet then. If there are still issues, I would also look up the latest firmware for your router and upgrade it to make sure its not a bug in the router.
Thanks for the advise but as I said previously, I have tried a different router and I'm getting the same problem with both which makes me believe the problem is with the PC. I have connected directly to my laptop and that works fine with both wired and wireless.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Sounds like something running on the machine is causing the issue, or the hardware has an issue. Does this happen after the machine has been on awhile and you just reboot?
 

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
It happens as soon as I switch on, and if I restart it makes no difference, I still get the problem. But as I said before after about 10 minutes or so, it allows me to repair the connection and everything works fine.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
That seems to indicate it's something running at startup on the machine, that's my best guess.
 

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
That was my guess too, I've checked MSCONFIG and there isn't anything suspect in that. Any suggestions on what to check before I kill the machine and reinstall?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, since it happens in Safe Mode, that eliminates most of the stuff running, so I'm not really sure where to go. If it were here, I'd be trying new cables, a new NIC, and a different router.
 

syztemlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
13
Tried the new NIC and still have the problem. I've ruled out everything now so the root problem has to be with Windows. Think it's going to be a re-install which will be a major headache!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top