Solved: Limited Connectivity(Wireless)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Falalala

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
3
Hi,

So I've been getting a bit annoyed with my wireless. I recently moved into a new apartment and when I connect to the router using the wireless. I get limited connectivity, it accepts the security key but can not get the internet. Connect wirelessly to another router within range and can connect to the internet via that. Also if I connect a ethernet cable to the router it gives me internet access. I couldn't see any settings in the routers menu that would prevent me from connecting(but im probably being blind).

Two other guys I'm sharing the apartment with can connect to the internet wirelessly with no issues. The router is a Thomson TWG870UIR.

And below is some of the info I think you'd ask me for anyway :).

Windows Vista Ultimate OS.

Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
Description: Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Physical Address: 00-13-E8-0D-82-4D
DHCP Enabled: Yes
IPv4 IP Address: 192.168.0.13
IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained: 11 December 2011 11:15:09
Lease Expires: 18 December 2011 11:15:09
IPv4 Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
IPv4 DHCP Server: 192.168.0.1
IPv4 DNS Servers: 89.101.160.5, 89.101.160.4
IPv4 WINS Server:
NetBIOS over Tcpip Enabled: Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80::814c:daa3:30dd:9697%8
IPv6 Default Gateway:
IPv6 DNS Server:


----------------

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Falalala
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-E8-0D-82-4D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::814c:daa3:30dd:9697%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 December 2011 11:15:09
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 December 2011 11:15:09
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 89.101.160.5
89.101.160.4
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101 Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-F6-5A-61
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Belkin
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
can we see three PING tests - also an xirrus screen shot - see below

What firewall do you have on the PC or ever had on the PC - like norton, mcafee

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping 192.168.0.1
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Falalala

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
3
Atm I have Avast & Windows Defender on the laptop.

----

C:\Windows\system32>Ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.16: Destination host unreachable.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

C:\Windows\system32>

C:\Windows\system32>Ping Google.com
Ping request could not find host Google.com. Please check the name and try again
.

C:\Windows\system32>Ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.16: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.16: Destination host unreachable.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),

C:\Windows\system32>

And Xirrus screenie should be attached.
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
is this your wireless
upc0044566

try logging into the router and removing the wireless security - see if you can connect with an unsecure network - if you can then
reset the security and see if you can connect


mac filtering may stop you connecting - but you would have needed to set that up for your room mates to connect

switch windows defender off
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows-vista/Turn-Windows-Defender-on-or-off

so no old security suites - like norton ever been on the PC even if removed by windows uninstaller they still block and need the removal tool run
 

Falalala

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
3
Hi,

Yeah I was aware that was my wireless :D. Thanks for the help so far but I managed to find out what was causing the issue.

N-band on the router was set to auto and was preventing me from connecting, setting it to off allows me to connect perfectly :).
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
(y) thanks for letting us know
You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)


Yeah I was aware that was my wireless
it was a question, as I was not sure which one was yours
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top