1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Limited Connectivity with Vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by icjs, Jun 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    For the past two weeks I have had problems connecting wirelessly to the internet. Prior to this I have had no such problems since getting the computer about 18 months ago.

    I have a Dell laptop with a Netgear router which works fine if I connect between the two with an ethernet cable.

    The signal strength is excellent and I have been able to correct the problem for varying periods;perhaps an hour perhaps several hours by variously changing the wireless channel, powering off router and computer for a short period before rebooting, restoring factory settings and reconfiguring the router etc but invariably the problem returns and I have to resort to the ethernet cable again.

    If anyone can help I would be very grateful; my computer knowledge is fairly limited so please be kind.
     
  2. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    You do have a wireless card installed in the laptop dont you?
    Also does anyone elses wiresless show up in the area?
    Go to device manager in control pannel and see if there are any yellow exclamation marks or question marks next to anything. Control pannel>System>hardware tab>Device Manager (may be slightly different for vista).
     
  3. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Hi liam1,
    Yes, I have a wireless card which Windows confirms is working properly. There are other wireless networks in the area but with a much weaker signal than mine . They are all security enabled as indeed is mine. I have checked the device manager and there are no problems indicated.
     
  4. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Hi Liam1,
    Further to my earlier reply I have noticed when watching the Network Status ( this with the ethernet cable connected ) the status will change momentarily from "connected" to " acquiring IP address " to " connected with limited access" and then to "connected " again.
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:Just to eliminate some of the potential problem areas :
    Download any more current firmware for your router.
    Download and install from the pc maker web site,and more current drivers for your network adapter.If the wireless adapter is integrated then you would need to download/install the chipset driver for your model and then any drivers for the adapter if available.
    Then if problem persists we will need to do some more diagnosis.
     
  6. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Just to check:
    Could you also do the following, Start>Run>Cmd>PING google.com then IPCONFIG /ALL and post the results here by using ctrl + v and ctrl + c.
     
  7. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Hi Liam1,
    I'm on Vista so the procedure is different, can you possibly clarify your instructions for Vista.

    Thanks in anticipation
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    This should work with any OS:
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  9. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Sorry I didn't check my bad here you go:

    Vista:
    Go to the start menu and type command in the box. Then right-click on Command Prompt and click Run as administrator. If a User Account Control window pops up, click Continue, Type
    IPCONFIG /ALL
    .

    Then In the same box PING Yahoo.com

    Thanks.
     
  10. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Ivan>IPCONFIG

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.92.45
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Users\Ivan>169.254.92.54
    '169.254.92.54' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Ivan>192.168.0.3
    '192.168.0.3' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Ivan>

    I'm struggling a bit here.I tried both IPv4 addresses as you can see, but everything entered seems to have produced the same result. Perhaps its me.
     
  11. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Command should be
    ipconfig /all
    You are also not getting a valid ip address on your wireless connection from the dhcp server.
    Let's do a couple of things
    First:
    Stack repair for XP and Vista.
    Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    .
    And complete output from ipconfig /all
    And the proper command also would be

    ping 192.168.01.01 and so on.
     
  12. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Ivan>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ivan-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-44-D6-FF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 08 June 2010 19:11:25
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 June 2010 19:11:25
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-BF-D4-F1-E8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.92.45(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    C:\Users\Ivan>ping 192.168.0.3

    Pinging 192.168.0.3 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.3: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.3:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Ivan>ping192.168.0.1
    'ping192.168.0.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Ivan>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 2ms

    C:\Users\Ivan>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\Ivan>ping 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=127ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=130ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 127ms, Maximum = 130ms, Average = 128ms

    C:\Users\Ivan>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=161ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=160ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=161ms TTL=51
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=162ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 160ms, Maximum = 162ms, Average = 161ms

    C:\Users\Ivan>

    Hope this makes more sense.
     
  13. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Your wireless adapter is not getting a valid ip address from the dhcp server,probably the router.
    Results of stack repair ?
    Let's see status of network adapter.
    Let&#8217;s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    And let's make sure that the wireless adapter is being told where to get the addresses.
    From a Johnwill postConfigure DHCP for Windows Vista.
    1. Click on the Start menu, and select Control Panel.
    2. Click on Network and Internet. (Skip this step if you do not see this Control Panel item.)
    3. Click on Network and Sharing Center.
    4. Click on Manage network connections.
    5. Right click on Local Area Connection and choose Properties. If Windows say it needs your permission to continue, click Continue.
    6. Select Internet Protocol Version 4(TCP/IPv4) and click Properties.
    7. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    8. Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
    9. Click OK to close the TCP/IP Properties window.
    10. Click OK to close the Local Area Connection Properties window.
    11. Click Close to close the Network Connections window.
    12. Click Close to close the Control Panel window.
    13. Restart your computer.

    And let's make sure that all necessary tasks are started.




    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    &#8226; COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    &#8226; Computer Browser
    &#8226; DHCP Client
    &#8226; DNS Client
    &#8226; Network Connections
    &#8226; Network Location Awareness
    &#8226; Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    &#8226; Server
    &#8226; TCP/IP Netbios helper
    &#8226; Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
    &#8226; WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
    &#8226; Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    __________________
     
  14. icjs

    icjs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Hi Pedroguy,

    Thanks for taking all this trouble.

    The Devices listed are : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945 ABG Network Connection and Marvell Yukon 88E 8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller. There are no error messages or symbols indicating a problem.

    I have checked the Wireless adaptor through steps 1 to 13 and all settings are as requested.

    I have checked and confirmed all the services have started,all being set to automatic except network connections which is set to Manual.

    Finally i have checked the Event Log which is full of my attempts to solve the problem with the Windows Diagonistic tool, but to no avail.
     
  15. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:As you can see from the ipconfig results,you do have a good ethernet connection,therefore the good ping results.So,that's good
    What were the results of the stack repair.
    Let's do a couple of other things:
    Following the steps for the cmd prompt.
    type in

    ipconfig /release Let that complete

    Then

    ipconfig /renew

    Let that complete.
    Then do another ipconfig /all and see if that made any difference in the wireless adapter addressing.

    If no joy there,then go back into device manager,
    select the wireless adapter,disable and re-enable it.

    If no joy there,then download/install this system device status tool and give me what it thinks the status of the wireless adapter is.

    Back in a minute with the link.

    http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html

    Download the free version.It will give you a very complete inventory of your pc(hardware and software)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/927888

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice