1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Limited connectivity

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by bojanglesfamous, Jan 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bojanglesfamous

    bojanglesfamous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I recently have been unable to connect to the internet over my wireless router, other laptops will connect and the specific computer that will not connect had been able to for months prior.

    i ran an ipconfig and here are the results


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Owner-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-26-3A-D7-24
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ed88:dd89:c934:ba7c%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.186.124(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184556582
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-3E-63-D7-00-1C-23-92-C2-DB

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-23-92-C2-DB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f07b:757f:df63:9564%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.55(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 16, 2011 11:33:48 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 17, 2011 11:33:53 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251665443
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-3E-63-D7-00-1C-23-92-C2-DB

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7D08046B-F1D4-4D68-AA08-5009F85F9
    3F9}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{398F50B3-FDD2-4736-BE91-AC4839AF8
    F80}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:c16:140b:3f57:fec8(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c16:140b:3f57:fec8%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Owner>
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    The absence of a Default Gateway in the wireless section of your report shows you aren't connected wirelessly. Is the wireless chip enabled in your computer? Have you gone through the security key procedure and failed it?
     
  3. bojanglesfamous

    bojanglesfamous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    i have gone through the security check if you mean inputing the password, which it accepted and then registered as connected, but with limited access
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. bojanglesfamous

    bojanglesfamous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    the adapter name is SmashLab
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    I don't like the look of that IP address but I'll leave the detailed analysis to TerryNet. The adapter name is actually Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter - SmashLab is your Network's name or SSID and the report confirms you're connected to the right network.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so we now know the adapter can see the wireless - I would log into the router and remove the security and see if that helps as the IP address in the ipconfig /all shows that you are NOT connected to the wireless

    What firewall / security suite do you have or ever had on the PC - Norton, mcafee etc

    you could also try removing the wireless profiles from the PC and re-entering the passcode - make sure you are 100% you know and enter the code correctly


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    --

    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. bojanglesfamous

    bojanglesfamous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    im currently running webroot antivirus with spysweeper and have previously had mcafee, tried removing the wireless profiles to no avail. Its been a while since ive had to configure the router, and i cant remember where to change the settings

    Edit: figured out how to get into router, but cannot get into settings, is there a possibility that the username/password might be different as it has been used prior by my landlord?

    Edit2: was able to get into router and changed password and that did the trick, thanks a million guys
     
  9. bojanglesfamous

    bojanglesfamous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    one last thing, is there any particular reason that might have happened or is just a sort of hiccup that can randomly occur?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you change the password or change to NO security ?

    if changed that sounds like your windows has corrupted a profile - removing the profile should have fixed that and asked you to enter the password - unless you where entering the password incorrectly

    if NO security then you need to change so it is using some sort of security - even WEP
     
  11. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    Future readers might like to note the confusion over this password -v- security key terminology. A router password gets you into the settings pages and is usually noted in the manual or in a Google search. The security key is a code you store to gain access to the network - preventing neighbours from doing so and putting you at risk.

    Back in Post #3, Mr. Bojangles tells us he had been through security but had limited access which is a clear sign of the security key being wrong. I'm also surprised that Xirrus report can't point out that the connectivity is limited to local.
     
  12. bojanglesfamous

    bojanglesfamous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Deleted the old security key (for the network) and then created a new one which solved the problem.

    Thanks again
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975143

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice