1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Limited or no connectivity on wired connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by anorexicrabbit, Mar 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. anorexicrabbit

    anorexicrabbit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I recently bought a new motherboard (ASUS Striker II formula 780i), set it all up and it worked perfectly. Installed windows onto a new hard drive and started again. The internet was working fine on a wired connection at first. i turned the pc off and when i booted it back up i kept receiving the "limited or no connectivity" warning on my connection. From this point onwards my pc will not connect to the internet via a wired connection but works fine on wireless.

    Here are the details

    my connection sends packets but cannot receive packets,
    I am getting a private IP address 169.***.**.**
    The ethernet cable is not faulty as it worked on my other pc
    The ethernet ports themselves are fine (tested cable with a pci adapter port and same problem)
    I have downloaded Winsockfix software and there has been no difference
    I tried to reinstall the TCP/IP yet still not connection
    I have tried a static and "obtain ip address automatically"
    i have tried ipconfig/release ipconfig/renew ipconfig/flushdns
    i have even reinstalled windows



    Here are my ipconfig/all details (the realtek adapter is where the Ethernet cable is currently connected and is displaying the limited or no connectivity warning.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MAT
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.47.27
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.47.27

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-E0-34-3B



    any help would be greatly appreciated. i would stick with the wireless but as im always downloading files etc, and doing a lot of internet activities i need the cable because it is usually much more reliable and a lot faster.

    thanks, mat
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The logical assumption here is that something is wrong with the wired hardware. Start by trying a new cable, change the port used on the router, and if all that fails, it may be the NIC has failed.

    I'm assuming you've checked in Device Manager and the NIC has no errors displayed...
     
  3. anorexicrabbit

    anorexicrabbit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    i tried a new cable. same problem.
    if u mean by changing the port on the router that i unplug the Ethernet cable from one of the ethernet ports at the back to another, then i've tried that.
    i can't see any errors in device manager.

    but i don't know how it could be the hardware because after then ethernet ports on the mothboard displayed the warning i went and took the PCI adapter from another pc, installed the drivers, and still got exactly the same problem. it can't resolve ip addresses.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, let's try the stack repair.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. anorexicrabbit

    anorexicrabbit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    problem solved!

    i swear i had tried to do this before without the wireless internet connected and just the cable.
    but as soon as i try it with the wireless adapter on it worked.


    thanks very much for your help! saved me a lot of grief.

    mat
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Glad it worked out. I normally trot that fix out whenever a mysterious issue like this surfaces, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. OTOH, it won't hurt anything, and just takes a minute to find out. :)


    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/697276

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice