1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Linksys Malfunction?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MaryBeth, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Help! This is driving me crazy! I have Hughesnet internet which in itself is probably 1/2 the problem, but I use to be able to get my second computer on the same time as the #1 computer, other than I could not use messenger to talk to my friends. Now, though, I cannot get on at all, when the #1 computer is on! The wireless connection does not show up at all and when I try to connect manually, it also will not show up at all. When I go into my network sharing it is there, but I cannot get to it. I hope you can understand this problem because it is hard to explain and so confusing. Please someone help me! This has my brain buzzing! The router is a Linsky.
    :p
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,265
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please bring your signature into compliance (3 line max.).

    Are you sure the router is not a Linksys? What is the model?

    Please try to connect the second computer by ethernet and wireless and show for both computers (if they are running Windows) ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Hi Terry. I took off my sig. Now about the Linksys WRT54g2V1, I cannot do what you say, sorry. The only problem I have is when computer #1 is online. I do not have the tools needed to carry out your instructions. This is a mystery to me since the connection completely disapears when the computer #1 is on, but comes back when that computer shuts down.
    Thanks for your reply.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,265
    First Name:
    Terry
    What tools do you not have?
     
  5. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    I don't have the ethernet cable. :(
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,265
    First Name:
    Terry
    Then connect by wireless only and post the requested information. :) With networking issues we often want to determine if we have a wireless only or a more general networking problem. That is only one of the reasons you oughta pick up an ethernet cable or two when you have a chance.
     
  7. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Yes, good advise to pick up a cord. Ok, so you want me online to run that test, right? But if I am online, the #1 computer won't be.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,265
    First Name:
    Terry
    I want to see how things look when you are trying to use both PCs online at the same time. I don't know what that will show, but we have to start somewhere.
     
  9. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Ok, I got you! I'll be back when I get the info.
    Thanks again, Terry. :)
     
  10. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Toshiba>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Toshiba-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5100
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-7F-B4-7A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::eddd:c941:864c:1402%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 4:00:58 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:00:58 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998429
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-F7-EF-49-00-1E-33-6B-1D-82

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.142.168.10
    67.142.168.11
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-6B-1D-82
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c36:3e91:3f57:fe9a(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c36:3e91:3f57:fe9a%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Toshiba>
     
  11. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    There you go. I don't have a clue what you are looking at, but like I told you I had to get this on manually because the network does not show when the #1 computer is on.
    Does this tell you anything?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,265
    First Name:
    Terry
    It shows an apparently good IP configuration for a wireless connection to a router. Unfortunately I am still clueless about what you mean by "the network does not show." What do you mean by that?
     
  13. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Ok, see when the main computer is online, and I go to put my laptop on, there is not any network showing for me to connect to, nothing at all. I can go into my network on my control panel and see the network, but cannot connect to it at all. I can try to connet to it manually from the laptop (computer #2) but cannot connect. I have to go to the main computer and open up the basic page of the router and maually put it on that way. Now when the main computer is shut down, the laptop sees the network and connects easily. My problem is connecting normally when the main computer is on. Would it help to do that config when the laptop is not on and cannot see a network?
    Thank you again, btw. :)
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,265
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show the ipconfig /all for the main computer when it is online, and for that same time show it for the laptop and also for the laptop ...

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  15. MaryBeth

    MaryBeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,821
    Hi Terry. I think I am going to keep on doing like I am doing. The other computer doesnt belong to me and I'd hate to put their information on the net too. I'm going to mark this as solved, and I thank you again so much.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Linksys Malfunction
  1. JadenPayne
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    293
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973850

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice