Solved: Linksys WRT54G router WLAN light off - no internet access via router AT ALL.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

isk

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
11
Hello,

Short story even shorter, there was a semi-power outage this morning (lights were very dim but power wasn't totally off), and when the power came back on my router stopped working. Here's what I know:

-The WLAN LED is no longer lit so there's no wireless. That orange CiscoSystems button is no longer glowing orange either if that means much.

-For some odd reason a wired connection through any of the ethernet ports on the router no longer works either, though the LED's still light up when connected, along with the internet LED.

-The modem works fine, I'm connected to the internet directly from the modem right now.

-I've tried to reset the router, but it doesn't seem to do anything.

-I've tried to access the router config settings, and the page doesn't load.

-I've tried to look up the routers ip address through the command prompt but when I enter the command "ipconfig" when I'm wired through the router I always get the response something along the lines of "media disconnected". When I try the command when connected directly to the modem the default gateway ip address comes up as '68.43.36.1'. This doesn't work either.


I've been searching the web for solutions for hours and I can't find one. This is actually the first time I've ever had to post a thread asking for help and I've experienced a slew of computer problems over the years, lol.

It may very well be that the router is fried, but I'm just trying to exhaust my options.

I'll appreciate it to no end if someone can help me solve this problem in a way that doesn't require me to buy a new one, lol.:)

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
45
Hey I'm not an expert on routers but it does sound like its been ruined. Maybe there was a power surge?. If you go out to buy another router though read reviews online before purchasing one. I purchesed a wirless "N" router by linksys once and it wasnt a true wireless n router and was a waste of money. i am currently using a netgear router that i am verry happy with. hope u get ur problem fixed without buying a new one.
 

isk

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
11
^ I sure hope not, and I'll keep what you said in mind if it comes to that. Thanks.

Can anyone help me out?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
what version is this
with the power on and when you reset and hold the reset button in - what happens

i have seen on other makes / models - unplug the router - hold the reset button in and then plug in again, not in any of the manuals for this model - BUT you dont have much to lose - hence the suggestion
 

isk

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
11
^ Its a wrt54g V8

When I hold the reset button on with the power on, it doesn't seem to respond, nothing happens at all.

I just tried your suggestion with plugging in the router while the reset button is held. It seems to at least respond to that. The power LED started blinking for a while when I plugged it back in, but as I am typing this, I now see that the Power LED is off altogether, but through this process the Ethernet and internet LEDs have been doing their typical flickering and still are.


EDIT:
I just took out the internet and ethernet cords so I could access the web to reply, btw, so now there are no lights on at all, but it is still plugged in. Just letting you know in case that is important or not
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
have you tried a reset with nothing connected - sounds like a new router is on the cards
 

isk

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
11
^ I just tried resetting while powered on and holding reset and then plugging in the power cord with nothing else attached, but still the same result in both cases.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
i would now say its time to look for a good deal on a replacement
 

isk

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
11
^ Awww crap, but hey, at least I now know not to waste anymore time on it.

Thanks a lot for your assistance, etaf.:)
 

TheShooter93

Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,248
First Name
Cody
If you're satisfied with this answer, mark this thread as "Solved." You can find this button in the top left corner of the thread. A preview is located below.
 

Attachments

isk

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
11
^Right, I live in the US, so I'm not sure how well it'll work, but it's definitely worth a try. Thanks for reminding me, I was already browsing amazon.com, lol.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top