1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: linksys wrt54gs simple does not work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TarzanTheMan, Nov 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TarzanTheMan

    TarzanTheMan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    i have the installation disc and it works perfectly up until the point where it tests the internet connection... which doesn't work. i'll follow up this post with a post showing the exact error message once i get it set up again.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    Who is your ISP? What is the brand and model of your modem?

    Are you remembering to power cycle (unplug) the modem when switching from computer to router and vice versa?
     
  3. TarzanTheMan

    TarzanTheMan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    [​IMG]

    my isp is comcast and i've already supplied the brand and model of the router in the title.

    edit: i've tried power cycling as well as turning my modem on and off as it says in the box above.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    "i've already supplied the brand and model of the router in the title."

    Yes, you did. Now when and if you respond to "What is the brand and model of your modem?" I or somebody else will probably have a suggestion of how to get your router working with the modem.
     
  5. cssmrsmith

    cssmrsmith

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    One quick solution is instead of using the Linksys set up disc open up IE or whatever browser you use and type in the IP address of the router. e.g. http://192.168.11.1 and your web browser should open up the Linksys router and you can then set it up manually (obvuiosly you need the router plugged into you PC with an ethernet cable). Also have you noticed wether the Internet and DSL lamps are lit on the router, if they arent then it is an external telephone line problem.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    I believe from post 3,ISP was said to be comcast.I think that is cable not DSL,but I could be wrong.
    Also,I think the ip address of the linksys router might be
    192.168.1.1
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Also,you might try another ethernet cable between the modem and router.
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And,just to confirm cabling,the cable from the modem is plugged into the router's internet port,not a wlan port.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  10. TarzanTheMan

    TarzanTheMan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    sorry if it seemed like i abandoned the thread - i did kind of forget about it. but this worked, thank you.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved linksys wrt54gs
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,259
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/647076

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice