1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Liquid spilled on laptop keyboard...Please help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ShanF, Jan 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ShanF

ShanF Thread Starter

Hello everyone sorry if this is posted in the wrong forum. I'm a newbie.

I spilled a little bit of milk on the keyboard of my laptop. This actually happened a few months ago, but I really need that computer up and running if possible so that my son can use it for his school work. Most of the buttons are functional but it's virtually impossible to use it with there being about 10 to 15 buttons inoperable as we are unable to spell out certain words...actually a lot of words. Other than that it runs just fine. It turns on, doesn't make any noise, and I was able to transfer files from the computer to my flash drive. My question is can it be repaired or should I just let it go? ( **fingers crossed**) Thank you all in advance :)

2. managed

managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Allan
    Try an external Usb keyboard, if all the keys work ok with that you can fit a new laptop keyboard which will probably work ok - but that's not guaranteed.

What make and model laptop is it ? (will be written on the bottom).

EDIT : and welcome to TSG :)

3. ShanF

ShanF Thread Starter

Thank you so much. The computer is a Gateway ma8 or mL6720...sorry I don't know to much about computers and there are two model numbers on the bottom so I gave you both...lol!

4. managed

First Name:
    Allan
    That's fine, they seem to use both of them ! No need to be sorry, we all had to start somewhere.

Can't find much online about that laptop. For now try a Usb keybooard and let me know if it works ok and we can go from there.