1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: list box selection to run macro

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by mrl, Jan 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrl

mrl Thread Starter

Hi,
    I'm trying to have a box come up with a list and depending of the selection, run a macro. I have the following, but I'd like to have the list in the box instead of on the sheet. I'm new to boxes, so I hope I'm using the right terminology

HTML:
    Sub test()
    On Error Resume Next
    InputCells = Application.InputBox(Prompt:="What Month", Type:=2)
       If InputCells = vbNullString Then
        Exit Sub
        Else
        Select Case InputCells
        Case "January"
        Janu
        Case "February"
        Febu
    End Select
    End If
    End Sub

Sub Janu()
    Application.Goto Reference:="january"
    End Sub

Sub Febu()
    Application.Goto Reference:="february"
    End Sub

Mike

2. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    List in the box, do you mean a user form?

3. mrl

mrl Thread Starter

Hi,
    First, happy New Year
    I know nothing about user forms
    Way back in my Lotus days, I could have a box come up with choices. (it was called {menubranch}) When I clicked one, a macro associated with it would run
    With the code that I showed you, the list is on the spreadsheet and when I click on a choice, the item goes into the box,or I type it myself into the box then the macro runs. I was trying to have the choices in the box. This would give me another learning tool. :D
    If what I have to use is a user form, I'll have to learn about them.

Mike :)

4. Keebellah

First Name:
    Hans
    Hi Mike, happy New Year to you too.
    I think I know what you mean.