1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Loading Programs into the RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jack-o-bytes, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Hello everyone,

    In my computer I have a fairly slow old IDE hard drive that is paired with an AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600 and 1GB 800MHz (running at 724MHz for some reason, I have a post about this which no one knows how to sort)

    Any way the Hard Drive is restricting the performance of the whole PC as it is from around 6 years ago. My question is, Can I load programs into the RAM so they stay there the whole time the PC is on. E.g. Load firefox into the RAM manually and then whenever I open it it opens really quickly.

    Thanking in advance
    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    So you have an old HDD hook up to a Motherboard that takes Sata?
     
  3. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Yeah, I have a converter that makes it from IDE to SATA, I could plug it into the IDE port but that has the DVD-RW and DVD-ROM drive in it.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Wouldn't it be better if you bought a Sata HDD and then your transfer rates would be good?
     
  5. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Yeah, That would be really good. Is there a way to make an exact copy of the hard drive I have now, (including partitions) onto a SATA 500GB hard drive which I could then just plug in and it would run the same?
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yes I think Acronis TrueImage can do that.......you can Make a Clone or Image of your HDD.
     
  7. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Do I need a same size Hard Drive? Or can I create and Image of each of the separate Partitions and then create 3 larger partitions on the new sata hard drive and "burn" them onto it?
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
  9. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    OK thats great. Thanks Mate. I am going to the gadget show live soon so I will try and get my hands on a new fast SATA drive. Thanks.
     
  10. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Its OK..........seems a bit expensive......
     
  12. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Expensive. I thought that was cheap for the fact that you get 64mb cache and dual processors. It is also SATA-III ready
     
  13. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yea .....I suppose....is that what you thinking of getting?
     
  14. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Maybe, Is there any other brand or product you could advise? I am fairly open about what type I will buy.
     
  15. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Can't say I have had any bad luck with WD............
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914210

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice