Solved: Local Area Connected, No Internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Hello

Can't get access to the Internet. Says "server not found" on Firefox and IE doesn't work as well.
Not a modem issue I don't think, all lights are working. Called my ISP they couldn't fix the issue.
I pinged my IP address I get a response although I can't ping my DNS server

I am using my cellphone so I can't install any programs on my PC.

Here is the details using ipconfig / all

Host name - d-pc
Primary DNS Suffix - blank
Node type - Unknown
IP routing enabled - no
Wins Proxy enabled - no
DNS suffix search list- nyc.rr.com

Ethernet adapter local area connection 2
Description - Broadcom netxtreme gigabit ethernet for HP
Physical address- 00-0E-7F-A4-9B-C3
Dhcp Enabled - yes
Autoconfiguration enabled- yes
IP address - 108.182.24.6
Subnet mask- 255.255.254.0
Default gateway- 108.182.24.1
DHCP server- 209.18.47.61
DNS servers - 209.18.47.62

Could someone please help
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
make an model of the modem

looks like a good IP address from a modem

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

i tried the dns
ping 209.18.47.62
and got a reply ok
and i can ping
default gateway- 108.182.24.1

try a ping to the Default gateway- 108.182.24.1
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Modem RCA by Thompson
Just turned my firewall off so I don't think that's an issue
All anti-virus was uninstalled, however I do have MalwareBytes

This is weird now I can ping my DNS servers which are
209.18.47.61 and 209.18.47.62

I can ping my Default gateway which is 108.182.24.1

My DHCP server is 10.38.32.1 I cannot ping that
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Oh my god, Internet randomly works now!

Very strange I've been trying to fix it for 3 days now.

Thanks!!!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
10.38.32.1
where are you seeing that - its a router IP address

this may not work but
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works

EDIT
whats the firewall - sounds like a classic firewall issue and any trialware - you need to use the removal tools and get rid of them all
if works - you can then decide what to put back on
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Ok

Just because my Internet works I don't want to fall back into the same issue.
So lets continue giving the root cause.

Firewall is windows XP I actually turned it back on, Internet still works.

When I do a ipconfig /all
DHCP server is 10.38.32.1
I do have a router, and I do regularly have serious issues being connected to my PC and wifi
Router is a Linksys EA2700

However right now my modem is directly connected to my PC not through my router right now

I think I do have avast still lurking around, how do I remove these tools and others?

I will check now in safe made
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Ok just booted up and safe mode
Internet works in safe mode.

I do want to check to see if I can get Internet running with my Modem connected to my router.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
so while its working - lets see an ipconfig /all

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Noticed the IP changed ( I am connected through the wifi)

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
for hp
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-7F-A4-9B-C3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.145
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 1:30:43 PM
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
thats the ethernet - not wireless ipconfig /all ???????
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Thats the information that I get, please be aware that I have a cable running from my router to my modem. The PC is directly connected to my router as well.

Maybe the information will change if I only have the modem directly connected to my PC.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
Ok - that makes sense for those results now

so what are we trying to fix

you need the modem connected to the router and then all devices connected to the router
you will also need to do a powercycle
and make sure you connect the modem to the correct port on the router

once connected we can then try and diagnose

post back if that works OK - if not
then the status of all the lights on the modem and router
and an ipconfig /all from a PC connected by cable to the router - then we need to do three pings tests

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a separate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
Quick question before we start. I have a cable hooked up from my PC to my Router, there are many different ports. Basically an "internet" port and also several Ethernet ports. Which port should the cable go in on the router. Currently I have the cable from the PC plugged into the "Ethernet" port on my router

And I have a cable plugged from my router to my modem using the "internet" port

Is that supposed to be correct?
 

Dihodges

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
13
And yes that is correct I need the modem connected to the router and then all devices connected to the router.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top