Solved: Local Area Connection: doesn't work, Wireless: does work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
My problem is that I cannot access the internet through my LAC. I enable the connection and it will connect and send packets, but will not receive any packets. I have no problems enabling my wireless connection and connecting to the internet. The wireless does like to disconnect and reconnect about 3 or 4 times an hour which is another problem I have. I believe this LAC problem started around the same time I was trying to get shared music between my computers on iTunes. I was trying to allow for connection on port 3689, but everything I did was unsuccessful. Any suggestions for any of these problems I'm having?
 

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
here is the run down of my Ethernet connection and my wireless connection

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Grotty
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : eau.wi.charter.com

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eau.wi.charter.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WG311v3 802.11g Wireless PCI
Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-6C-73-A2-C4
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.115.71.53
24.196.64.53
24.159.193.40
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 23, 2008 6:37:44 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 24, 2008 6:37:44 PM


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Grotty
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-E2-12-8E
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Are you attempting to use ICS to share an Internet connection? If not, you need to disable ICS and enable DHCP on the wired connection.

A better description of what you're attempting would help here.
 

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
the wired connection does not work. I'm not using ICS and the wired connection appears to be not be DHCP enabled according to my ipconfig /ALL query that is posted ablove. How do you change that setting? I looked through my router settings and it looked like the DHCP was enabled?? Are the settings printed out from the command line false or the ones found on the router?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,724
The DHCP server is enabled in the router, but the wired connection didn't have a dynamic IP.

Setting a computer to dynamic IP

Go into the Windows control panel, network and internet connections, network connections. Right click on your Internet connection, then properties, then click TCP/IP, properties.
Select the option to obtain and IP address automatically.
 

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
Thanks guys problem solved. Setting it to obtain IP address automatically did the trick. Now if I can only figure out why I cannot share songs through iTunes on port 3689.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,724
Glad you got the Internet back working…:D
Did you open the port for iTunes in the router?
 

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
I do not believe that I have done that. I took a look in there and wasn't exactly sure how to open that port in the router?
 

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
The only place it looks like I could do something related to my issue would be under the Applications & Gaming tab. Under that tab they have subheadings for 'Port Range Forward', 'Port Triggering', 'DMZ', QoS. I'm not exactly sure if any of those options would work? I have a linksys router. I've try creating exceptions within my firewall settings for port 3689, but that does not solve the problem.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,724
1. Enter any name in the application box.
2. If 3689 is the only port that needs to be open, enter it in the start and end.
3. Select the protocol to both.
4.* Enter your computer's local IP.
5. Select enable, then click save settings.



*= You currently have a dynamic IP for your computer, and it may change in the next few days, which would mean you would have to go to ipconfig to check the new IP, and would have to modify the entry's IP address every time it changes.
Do you want to switch to a static IP? (where it won't change)
It requires just a few more steps.
 

grotty411

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
8
I opened port 3689 TCP and 5353 UDP in the network setting and it does not appear to work. I've also created exceptions for both these ports within my firewall settings. The problem is local to my desktop because on my laptop I can access other users songs. iTunes on my desktop cannot see any other shared libraries. Every time I restart iTunes on my laptop the library on my desktop computer shows up, but i cannot connect to it. I've been battling this for a few weeks now :(
I appreciate the help!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top