1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Local Area Connection: doesn't work, Wireless: does work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by grotty411, Nov 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    My problem is that I cannot access the internet through my LAC. I enable the connection and it will connect and send packets, but will not receive any packets. I have no problems enabling my wireless connection and connecting to the internet. The wireless does like to disconnect and reconnect about 3 or 4 times an hour which is another problem I have. I believe this LAC problem started around the same time I was trying to get shared music between my computers on iTunes. I was trying to allow for connection on port 3689, but everything I did was unsuccessful. Any suggestions for any of these problems I'm having?
     
  2. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    here is the run down of my Ethernet connection and my wireless connection

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Grotty
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : eau.wi.charter.com

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eau.wi.charter.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WG311v3 802.11g Wireless PCI
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-6C-73-A2-C4
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.115.71.53
    24.196.64.53
    24.159.193.40
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 23, 2008 6:37:44 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 24, 2008 6:37:44 PM


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Grotty
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-E2-12-8E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Are you attempting to use ICS to share an Internet connection? If not, you need to disable ICS and enable DHCP on the wired connection.

    A better description of what you're attempting would help here.
     
  4. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    I was a little confused, is it wireless or wired that does not work?
     
  5. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    the wired connection does not work. I'm not using ICS and the wired connection appears to be not be DHCP enabled according to my ipconfig /ALL query that is posted ablove. How do you change that setting? I looked through my router settings and it looked like the DHCP was enabled?? Are the settings printed out from the command line false or the ones found on the router?
     
  6. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    The DHCP server is enabled in the router, but the wired connection didn't have a dynamic IP.

    Setting a computer to dynamic IP

    Go into the Windows control panel, network and internet connections, network connections. Right click on your Internet connection, then properties, then click TCP/IP, properties.
    Select the option to obtain and IP address automatically.
     
  7. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks guys problem solved. Setting it to obtain IP address automatically did the trick. Now if I can only figure out why I cannot share songs through iTunes on port 3689.
     
  8. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    Glad you got the Internet back workingÂ…:D
    Did you open the port for iTunes in the router?
     
  9. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I do not believe that I have done that. I took a look in there and wasn't exactly sure how to open that port in the router?
     
  10. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    What are all the options to click that you see in the router?
     
  11. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    The only place it looks like I could do something related to my issue would be under the Applications & Gaming tab. Under that tab they have subheadings for 'Port Range Forward', 'Port Triggering', 'DMZ', QoS. I'm not exactly sure if any of those options would work? I have a linksys router. I've try creating exceptions within my firewall settings for port 3689, but that does not solve the problem.
     
  12. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    Can you show a screenshot of the port range forward?
     
  13. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
  14. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    1. Enter any name in the application box.
    2. If 3689 is the only port that needs to be open, enter it in the start and end.
    3. Select the protocol to both.
    4.* Enter your computer's local IP.
    5. Select enable, then click save settings.



    *= You currently have a dynamic IP for your computer, and it may change in the next few days, which would mean you would have to go to ipconfig to check the new IP, and would have to modify the entry's IP address every time it changes.
    Do you want to switch to a static IP? (where it won't change)
    It requires just a few more steps.
     
  15. grotty411

    grotty411 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I opened port 3689 TCP and 5353 UDP in the network setting and it does not appear to work. I've also created exceptions for both these ports within my firewall settings. The problem is local to my desktop because on my laptop I can access other users songs. iTunes on my desktop cannot see any other shared libraries. Every time I restart iTunes on my laptop the library on my desktop computer shows up, but i cannot connect to it. I've been battling this for a few weeks now :(
    I appreciate the help!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/772401

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice