1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Local Only on Desktop Computer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hsdubb19, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hsdubb19

    hsdubb19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I have a Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit.

    This problem recently started today.

    My Desktop is connected to my Computer via Ethernet.
    I called AT&T to see if it was a internet problem from their side but it wasn't because I turned Wireless off on my laptop and connected my laptop via Ethernet and I was able to connect online.

    With the nice lady at AT&T, we tried many troubleshooting steps such as:

    • ipconfig
    • netsh winsock reset
    • Disabling/Enabling Network Adapter
    • Turning Off/On Router
    • Restarting Computer
    • Disabled Firewall
    • The Ethernet Cable does work
    She concluded that the problem was with my computer and not their internet. So what I was wondering is, is this the cause of a Virus? And no, it wasn't the Trojan DNS virus. I had the virus before and I immediately checked my DNS settings and they were still "Obtain Automatically"

    This Problem just occurred suddenly. I was using my computer at 3 pm. Left it on with all programs closed, came back at 5 pm where I discovered that I couldn't connect with my desktop via Ethernet.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    Just to confirm--you can connect successfully using the laptop and the same router LAN port and cable, right?
     
  4. hsdubb19

    hsdubb19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I just bought a new router after discovering that my laptop couldn't even connect to the internet with an Ethernet port. I guess my Gateway was the problem.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    They do go bad. Glad you solved it. :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice