Solved: Looking for clues to fix access problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bkdc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
489
I have a small home network with 3 desktops and one laptop all running win-xp sp2. The desktops are attached to Linksys router using a Linksys wireless access point for the laptop sharing an internet connection. Windows default firewall enabled on all.

My problem is with my personal PC, lets call it PC3.
File & print sharing, and internet connection was working fine on all systems until I installed System Mechanic 6 Pro on PC3.
Now PC3 can access PC1,2, & 4; printsharing & internet work fine but PC1,2, & 4 can not access PC3. When I try to access PC3 from one of the other PCs, the network connection times out & I get the error to contact the admin.
I've turned everything off on PC3, SM, Firewall, etc. & I still have the same problem.
Perhaps SM has changed a system setting somewhere, my question is WHERE?

I would like to keep SM running, if possible but I also need to communicate both ways with all PCs.

Thanks in advance
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
System Mechanic 6 Pro includes a firewall. If you want to allow others access to your computer you need to uninstall it or configure it to allow whatever access you desire. Some people have found that when they "disable" or "turn off" a 3rd party firewall it still blocks access.
 

bkdc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
489
Thanks. :)
I guess I forgot to mention that I did not install the firewall or virus protection apps. that came with SM Pro; I just stuck with Norton VP & Windows fire wall.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, since SM Pro caused the problem, I'd first try uninstalling it and see if the problem goes away. :)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

PING each computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. You can obtain the IP address of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG. This should work for any Windows version.

All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
 

bkdc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
489
JohnWill, Thanks for the info. :)
I will go through each step first chance I get & let you know the results.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
When you get to a step that you can't accomplish, let us know exactly what you see.
 

bkdc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
489
JohnWill, your response is very appreciated.

I made one modification to it :eek: I started with the IPCONFIG & PING instructions without turning off any firewalls. The pings went fine, so I proceeded with the remainder of your instructions. Everything worked perfectly (y) however, I am somewhat confused :confused: :confused:

I've played with this problem unsucessfully for about two weeks, then all of a sudden everything is working fine. May-be I'm losing it or could it be that I already lost it. :rolleyes:

Anyway thanks for the help.(y)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
My masterful procedure scared the problem right out of your computer. :D:D:D

Seriously, it's pretty hard to know what happened, perhaps it was a full moon?
 

bkdc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2003
Messages
489
I think it was your avatar more that your masterful procedure. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top