1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Lose connection with netgear router, with multiple devices???

Discussion in 'Networking' started by stu1969, Jan 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi,

    This is my first post so please be gentle, I have a Netgear DG834GT connected to Talk Talk with a WEP security key, I have 1 desktop, 1 laptop, ps3. ipod touch and iphone all using it wirelessy, there all connected to my home network, but its pot luck if you can connect to the internet at any time with any off them, it seems to be whatever is connected first is ok, whatever trys to connect to 2nd or 3rd and so on is pot luck, or the connection may even drop, please help.:mad:
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What speed is your connection? Are the devices close enough to the router?

    Check the router's settings, too. Some can limit the number of devices connected at once.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What speed is your connection? Are the devices close enough to the router?

    Check the router's settings, too. Some can limit the number of devices connected at once.
     
  5. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks,
    Downstream Connection speed is 8124 kbps, Upstream Connection speed is 976 kbps.
    Devices mainly in same room, cant see settings for number of devices.
     
  6. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    thanks everyone for your help
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you resolve this?
     
  8. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    No I was being sarcastic!!!
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Perhaps less sarcasm and more information would speed the process of debugging.

    Let's see this from a successfully connected computer.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  10. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Sorry, like I said I'm new to this/

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Stuart>IPCONFIG /ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Stuart-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin 54g Wireless USB Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-A3-C7-B5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::44e5:7f90:9265:e4a8%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 08 January 2010 10:14:11
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 January 2010 19:59:48
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301994320
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-82-34-7D-00-14-85-64-2A-36
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-85-64-2A-36
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{6FE9A4A1-7066-44B9-B680-0B20BFBF0830}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73bc:893:415:a60c:4706(Prefer
    red)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::893:415:a60c:4706%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Reusable Microsoft 6To4 Adapter:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Stuart>
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you ever successfully connected all the machines at the same time to the network? Do the laptops work properly at a local WiFi hotspot? Do the symptoms change if you connect with a wired connection?

    Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, paste a screen shot of the main screen here and identify which wireless network ID is yours.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  12. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    My network is COUNTY, laptop and Iphone works fine everywhere else, pc and laptop have no problems when connected with wires.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If your SSID is COUNTY, I suggest you change the router's channel to channel 1.
     
  14. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    just changed it to channel 1, will give it a few hours and will let you know outcome. Thanks
     
  15. stu1969

    stu1969 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi, all seemed good last night, then this morning Desktop, Laptop and Iphone connected fine, but later on Iphone wouldnt connect to the internet, then Desktop wouldnt connect either, they both find my COUNTY network but woudnt connect to internet, had to reboot router, now Desktop and Iphone ok
     
  16. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The router may be a bit flaky, or it could be the ISP. When you can't connect, does the router still indicate it has a good connection to the ISP?

    I'd suggest upgrading the firmware to the latest available AND resetting to factory defaults and reconfiguring. This will cure a lot of ills with a router.
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/890360