Solved: Lost Favorites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Using IE 6. Was on the PC last night and everything worked fine. Today, I installed Chameleon (FTP tools, etc). After that, I went to browse the web and found that none of my favorites work. I also see that all the icons next to those favorites have changed to the Windows default icons. Any ideas?

Here is a HJT log in case it helps:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 1:15:18 AM, on 7/12/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
C:\Program Files\2Wire\HomePortal\2PortalMon.exe
C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\dpps2.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe
C:\Program Files\VIA\RAID\raid_tool.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\msoffice.exe
C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgbhp.exe
C:\Program Files\Cisco Systems\VPN Client\cvpnd.exe
C:\Program Files\NavNT\defwatch.exe
C:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
C:\NETMANAG.32\w3svc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cba\pds.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\NETMANAG.32\W3SERVER.exe
C:\NETMANAG.32\lpdsvc.exe
C:\NETMANAG.32\pmapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\NavNT\rtvscan.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cba\xfr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\MsgSys.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/*http://yahoo.sbc.com/dsl
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/*http://yahoo.sbc.com/dsl
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/*http://yahoo.sbc.com/dsl
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [2wSysTray] C:\Program Files\2Wire\HomePortal\2PortalMon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CloneCDTray] "C:\Program Files\SlySoft\CloneCD\CloneCDTray.exe" /s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pop-Up Stopper] "C:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\dpps2.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [imekrmig] C:\IME\IMKR\imekrmig.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DiskeeperSystray] "C:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\DkIcon.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpybotSD TeaTimer] C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe
O4 - Startup: NEWTToolbar.lnk = C:\NETMANAG.32\TSKBAR32.EXE
O4 - Startup: SNMP Super Agents.lnk = C:\NETMANAG.32\WSNMPD32.EXE
O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Cisco Systems VPN Client.lnk = C:\Program Files\Cisco Systems\VPN Client\ipsecdialer.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: VIA RAID TOOL.lnk = C:\Program Files\VIA\RAID\raid_tool.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &ieSpell Options - res://C:\Program Files\ieSpell\iespell.dll/SPELLOPTION.HTM
O8 - Extra context menu item: Check &Spelling - res://C:\Program Files\ieSpell\iespell.dll/SPELLCHECK.HTM
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: ieSpell - {0E17D5B7-9F5D-4fee-9DF6-CA6EE38B68A8} - C:\Program Files\ieSpell\iespell.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ieSpell - {0E17D5B7-9F5D-4fee-9DF6-CA6EE38B68A8} - C:\Program Files\ieSpell\iespell.dll
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {1606D6F9-9D3B-4aea-A025-ED5B2FD488E7} - C:\Program Files\ieSpell\iespell.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ieSpell Options - {1606D6F9-9D3B-4aea-A025-ED5B2FD488E7} - C:\Program Files\ieSpell\iespell.dll
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=34738&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2004061001/housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
O23 - Service: Cisco Systems, Inc. VPN Service (CVPND) - Cisco Systems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Cisco Systems\VPN Client\cvpnd.exe
O23 - Service: DefWatch - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\NavNT\defwatch.exe
O23 - Service: Diskeeper - Executive Software International, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
O23 - Service: NetManage Personal Web Server (HTTP_80) - Unknown owner - C:\NETMANAG.32\w3svc.exe
O23 - Service: InCD Helper (InCDsrv) - Ahead Software AG - C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
O23 - Service: Intel File Transfer - Intel® Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\cba\xfr.exe
O23 - Service: Intel PDS - Intel® Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\cba\pds.exe
O23 - Service: NetManage Chameleon32 LPD (NMLPD) - NetManage Inc. - C:\NETMANAG.32\lpdsvc.exe
O23 - Service: NetManage Chameleon32NFS Portmapper (NMPortMapper) - NetManage Inc. - C:\NETMANAG.32\pmapsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Client (Norton AntiVirus Server) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\NavNT\rtvscan.exe
 

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Looked at that. Doesn't appear to help. But thanks...
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
1. Did you manage to see if your favorites are still on your hard drive?

2. You edited your registry and it didn't help? Or just logging on in correct identity didn't help?

3. What about the favicon part on that page?

sekirt
 

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Sorry if my answer was short. Been working for the last 8 hours and very tired.

Yes, the favorites are still there. This is my home PC and it logs into the same account as it has since I built it. The cache has not been cleared, so I do not think the favicon is it. I am using a program to look at the favorites and the URL's still seem to be there, but if I click on them, it does nothing.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
well if it happened when you installed chameleon then it's very likely taht is the cause

I would uninstall chameleon and see if it cures the problem

if not then do a system restore to before you intalled it and see if that works
 

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Okay, I have uninstalled Chameleon and that didn't work. I also tried to create a new favorite to here and can not follow that either. Any other suggestions? You mention a system restore. Where do I find that?
 

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Okay, found the system restore. There are not restore points there. Any other ideas? No Favorites work. Even if I create a new one now, it will not work.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,164
Copy the url of one of your favorites and go here and paste the url in the first box and "Do Stuff". On the page that comes up copy the number beside the url you entered and paste it in the address bar and see if it will go to the site.
 

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Deke,

If I go to Favorites ~~> Organize Favorites ~~> select a favorite ~~> Right click ~~> go to properties, I don't see a URL. I will post an image of what I see. Need a second to get it and save it.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,164
I hope I am not going to complicate things further but if you go here and download Copy Url and you will have a right click menu that looks likes this image and makes it easy to copy the favorite in three different formats.
 

Attachments

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Okay Deke, I did all that. I was able to do the "Do Stuff" get the IP Address and then go to that site. I have what appears to be full internet access. I just can't use any favorites.

Got some where I have to go, so I will check back later. Thanks...
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,164
One quick thing to try is when you right click on the favorite just click "open" on the right click menu and see what happens.
 

THoey

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Messages
3,420
Well, "Open in New Window" works. Just can not just click on it to go there. Weird.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top