1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: lost menu and tool bar

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Euphrates, Jan 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Euphrates

    Euphrates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Hi, Tech Support Guy. I was using my Word Starter and somehow managed to delete my WordPad menu bar and toolbar. The only words at the top of the page are "Home" and "View." When I click "Home," the menu returns, but disappears as soon as I start typing. I read a previous thread that instructed us to click on the "alt" key. I did this. Unfortunately, the same happened. I can't type anything without losing the menu bar. How do I make it a default setting? This was not on the previous thread by another person,and the thread has expired. Thank you so much. I would really like to keep the menu bar and not lose it again, or have to keep pressing the ""Home" key. Sincerely, Euphrates.
     
  2. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    hiya,try a system restore back to a time when it worked ok
     
  3. Abe999

    Abe999

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Sounds like you are using the Windows 7 version of WordPad. If so, double clicking the Home tab will hide the ribbon. Double clicking the Home tab once more brings the ribbon out of hidden mode.
     
  4. Euphrates

    Euphrates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Hi. You are going to have to give me some help with this one. I am not a tech gal, and I have no idea what you are instructing me to do. I have had the menu bar since I purchased the computer, and I'm not sure how to follow your advice. Thanks, Euphrates.
     
  5. Euphrates

    Euphrates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Will that keep my menu bar as a default? I've tried clicking on, but it disappears. By the way, I think I know how this happened. I was trying to find the icons for flipping an image to "mirror-image" function on Word Starter, but the instructions were wrong. I accidentally opened the "Effects" icon and clicked on a box marked "Office." I could not remove or undo my mistake. If I go back to the "Effects" icon and click on, the "Office" box is still outlined where I clicked it. After that, my menu bar, for some weird reason, disappeared from my WordPad. Can you help? Does this sound like the problem? Thanks much, Sincerely, Euphrates.
     
  6. Euphrates

    Euphrates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Dear Abe999; The double-click on "Home" worked. I was single-clicking all this time. My thanks to everyone who helped me. Sincerely, Euphrates.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved lost menu
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,174
  2. bsacco
    Replies:
    38
    Views:
    976
  3. Vettepartz
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    157
  4. Ken_RM

    Solved lost data

    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    383
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085058

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice