1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Lost my desktop

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Magic Dan, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Magic Dan

    Magic Dan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    First Name:
    Danny
    I work with two monitors and must have adjusted something on my monitor settings. The computer is feeding only one screen. Problem is the monitor that is working is not the one showing the icons!! I can right click on the working screen go Personalise or Screen Settings but nothing happens so I assume the dialogue box opens up in the other screen which is blank. How to fix??
    First suggestion will be try looking in Control Panel then Display and correct the settings. But I don't even have the Start button visible on the working monitor.
    The non working monitor is getting power. But it seems no signal.
    I am working with Vista business
     
  2. kenny111111

    kenny111111

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,059
    hello
    for starters,to get to the control panel (blind) hit the windows key (one time) and type control panel, hit enter.... but you may not be able to see that either.

    what happens if you unplug one monitor?
    is there a fn + f5 key combo (or f6,f7) to switch between display monitors?

    good luck

    edit..what happens if you hook the monitors up backwards?....switch them around....
     
  3. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    If that doesn't work, disconnect the second monitor.
     
  4. Magic Dan

    Magic Dan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    First Name:
    Danny
    I disconnected the 2nd monitor and got my icons back. Thanks. Why didn't I think of that??
     
  5. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    So, kindly mark this as solved
     
  6. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Sometimes, the forest for the trees ;) It's happened to me with dual monitors and at first I didn't think of it either :D

    You're welcome :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918374

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice