1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Lost Toolbars

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jayceeb, Apr 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Windows 7 - I have lost my desktop toolbar & cannot restore it. What I do have is a Norton and a Google toolbar, but I want the original one back. Also, in Outlook my address book does not have a toolbar any longer. What can I do??Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G2020 @ 2.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 7892 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -1792 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476837 MB, Free - 412083 MB; J: Total - 1907726 MB, Free - 1000844 MB;
    Motherboard: ASRock, H61M-VG3
    Antivirus: Norton Security Suite, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,145
    First Name:
    Liz
    Explain what you mean by desktop toolbar.

    Are you referring to the bar at the bottom of the screen that has the start button/orb, quick launch icons and tray area including the clock?

    That sounds like something you see in a browser. Please state what browser you are using.
     
  3. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    I'm referring to the bar at the upper left side of the screen - "File Edit Favorites Tools Help " Same thing in my address book for outlook.


    The bottom is okay
     
  4. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    I'm using Internet Explorer
     
  5. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor (deceased)

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,176
    Press your Alt key on the keyboard.
    If that makes it appear, click View>Toolbars>place a check by menubar.
     
  6. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    thank you so much - it worked,
     
  7. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor (deceased)

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,176
    You're welcome. :)
     
  8. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Any ideas on how to get that same toolbar back up in my Outlook address book?
     
  9. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor (deceased)

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,176
    What version of Outlook?
    I think the Alt key will show the bar in older versions (Alt+V should open the View menu) and for newer with the "ribbon", Ctrl+F1 should toggle it on.

    I don't use Outlook, so I'm not 100% sure.
     
  10. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Neither of those hints worked. I'm using Outlook 2010 . I do appreciate your help. Thank you so much.
     
  11. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,598
    what happens when you click the below (highlighted in red)?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    It brings up a box that says to minimize ribbon
     
  13. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,598
    so you lost the file, home, etc buttons from outlook?

    That one I do not know how to fix.

    thanks

    v
     
  14. jayceeb

    jayceeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    thanks for your efforts. The only thing I lost it on is the address book in Outlook. I appreciate your trying. Thanks again.


    jayceeb
     
  15. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor (deceased)

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,176
    If you right click the area where the menus should be, do you get any menu options that would enable it?
    I'm thinking something like Toolbars or Customize ribbon.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Lost Toolbars
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,424
  2. newmark
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    299
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146238

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice