Solved: Low Disc space on Recovery Drive-Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dianne Stiffler

I have a compaq presario PC with Vista programming.

I continually get messages telling me I have low disc space in Recovery
Drive D. It loses space rapidly and now I have almost no disc space, I cant even run a backup because I dont have enough space. I have uninstalled everything that was not being used or redundent, and have cleaned up the disc, but to no avail. Help, what do I do? And why does it keep on filling up with things I am unable to detect. I am a novice user, so I need help. PS: It is only a year old.:confused:

I would check and see if Hibernation is enabled or not. If it is enabled, turn it off and delete the files it stored.

Also, check your system restore points (can be found in the control panel). If you have a years worth of restore points that would eat away a LOT of space.

One last thing...you could try compressing the drive to give you some more space...just right-click on the drive in Computer, go to Properties, and see if it is compressed or not.

Dianne Stiffler

Sorry it took me so long to reply, but it was late when I finally got everything done. It worked beautifully. I have tons of space now in my Recovery Drive, and best of all I now know how to keep it like that. Thank You so much, you taught me so much in just a few lines. If I wasn't married I'd ask you out for a date! Thanks again, Dianne;)

Hi. I have the same problem and Dianne is Steve Jobs compared to me in terms of tech-savviness. I have a Dell desktop with Vista and I tried both suggestions but I can't even find Hibernation or "restore points.":confused:

I agree I had the same problem and all i did was compressed the drive and reformated it work like a charm

~Candy~

Retired Administrator