1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: low gb available

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mardigrasvet, Apr 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    had virus. wiped clean and reran. installed avg first thing. ran disk cleanup and defrag twice. still tells me 24.66 gb is capacity but only 3.65 available. searched and read a few other questions. checked disk mgmt and three partitions and the figures given are listed for c:.

    wiped everything off computer to stick so can't figure out where problem is. any clue?

    thanks.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Sounds like the hard drive was not wiped after all. How did you wipe the drive, what steps did you perform?
     
  3. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    i just inserted the disk i had into the drive and that was it. heaven forbid i have to start over again!
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    If you want to format the drive you need to do more then just insert the disc. One of the screens allows you to delete partitions, format the existing partitions, or keep the current file system intact. You need to go through it again and read the screens carefully.
     
  5. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    this is what the screen in disk mgt says: there are three lines at the top with

    partition basic fat healthy(eisa) 55mb 48mb no
    " " fat32 healthy(unknown) 3.22 282mb no
    c: " " ntfs (system) 24.66gb 3.55gb no

    the three blocks of info below have the same info in them. as you can tell, i have no idea what to do with this info.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Is this a brand name system, like an HP or Dell? Seems like your computer has a recovery partition on the hard drive.
     
  7. Snagglegaster

    Snagglegaster Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    I wouldn't write the drive off until I tried repairing it. You don't say what OS you are using on it, but I'd suggest booting from a Windows XP CD, then using the Recovery Console to run CHKDSK /R on the drive, starting with the C; partition. There's a pretty good tutorial here. There are some alternate repair methods, but I think this is probably the quickest and simplest.
     
  8. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    i have a dell ispiron 6000. i use windows xp. i read the tutorial and it seems pretty simple. when i got to the end it, it told me to make the changes. what changes? are you saying i have two xp's, the old and the new, on my machine? how do i know which one to remove?
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  10. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    i tried the ctrl and f11 method but nothing happened. i kept the buttons pressed anyway and my signin appeared. signed in and kept pressing and nothing happened. tried to press the buttons as soon as it started up. then tried pressing f8 and eventually got a screen that gave me lots of options but nothing that looked like the restore which is described as a fairly simple thing to do.
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You have to press CTRL + F11 when you see the Dell Logo. However doing a reinstall may have damage the special Dell MBR so it may not longer work.

    Try the Windows reinstall again but read the screens carefully so that you format the partition before doing the reinstall.
     
  12. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    thanks for all your help. a fellow in my company's computer department offered to help me if i bring him the laptop. i do not want him to spend a whole lot of time on my personal stuff so could you offer an idea of how long it would take him to fix this problem?

    i also looked at snagglegaster's rec and i think i could try that. but i am close to illiterate in these things and even the simple "format the partition" you suggested sounds to me like asking me to take domingo's place at the met!

    your help is appreciated and your patience should be patented!
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    A reinstall of Windows and drivers generally takes about 1 1/2 hours, you'll also want to install all the Windows Updates and install anti-virus software a well which can take another 1 hour.
     
  14. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    using dell's tech support instructions, i tried to install the system again and paid very close attention to the screens. i even clicked on advanced at one prompt and said i wanted to format the partition. no prompt for that ever appeared so i just continued to click on install and eventually was told that another system was installed alrready on the partition with the most gb and that probs could ensue. continued and eventually told "setup is deleting existing windows installation."

    again, no prompt to format and the computer wiz at my job, as you did too, said formatting will wipe out everything.

    so computer still shows 16 gb used and 8 gb free. i save nothing to the computer, all on memory sticks so other than windows there is nothing else on the computer.

    any ideas on how i can just tell the computer to format so it will be clean and then i can insert the reinstall cd again?

    thanks. took me a while to do this because the laptop operated ok but slow and then it really slowed down so i knew i had to do something.
     
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917385

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice