1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Low priority problem, hmdi to hdmi desktop and monitor connection not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by deadtecmouse, Apr 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. deadtecmouse

    deadtecmouse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I really don't expect a solution to come out of this; but I would appreciate it if you looked into it. The problem was accidentally caused by me. I have a ati radeon 6850 graphic card hooked up to a Samsung syncmaster t260hd moniter. One day I tried to go to the graphic utility ccc to change the resolution and hertz. Because old movies looked jittery at 60 hertz. I must have used a hdtv custom resolution and now my monitor wont work anymore. It displays mode not supported the moment I turn on my computer. I used both hdmi ports on the monitor to no avail. But, now here the tricky part, I uninstalled the amd driver software, but I also installed driver software via steam video driver update feature way back in the past. As of now, I am using a dvi to hdmi connection with no noticeable difference in picture or video.

    Below is the tgs sysinfo log. However, you can take your time, I can wait. There are users with more urgent problems. And thanks for looking into it.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 6
    RAM: 8171 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 114370 MB, Free - 78669 MB; D: Total - 953866 MB, Free - 262585 MB;
    Motherboard: ASRock, 970 Extreme3
    Antivirus: None
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,473
    First Name:
    Jim
    All you typically need to do is update or reinstall the video drivers.
     
  3. deadtecmouse

    deadtecmouse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I just installed the latest drivers for my graphic card. I still get a no signal message from two of the hdmi cables I tested. Dvi to hdmi connection works perfectly though. Any other potential solutions?
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,473
    First Name:
    Jim
    You will likely need to be using a desktop resolution that meets TV specs (ie: 480P, 720P, or 1080P @ 60hz). Non-standard resolutions can cause problems.

    The TV should also be connected and powered ON, BEFORE the PC is powered up.

    The video signal should be going to all ports. So there isn't an option to turn them on/off. So it's also entirely possible the HDMI port(s) is faulty.
     
  5. deadtecmouse

    deadtecmouse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    It may be as you say, broken hdmi ports. However, thanks for the replies Oddba11. Much appreciated.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1095596

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice