1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Machine Sees LAN, but not Internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jp1203, Jul 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Hi All-

    I have a machine tied in Wirelessly (with a Dynex USB Wireless G adapter-hey-I got it for free) Problem is, it sees the network fine, but not the internet (to a point) The DSL connection is definitely up, as all the other machines can access the internet without a problem. Other wireless machines access the internet fine.

    The machine can get to network resources (shares/printers/etc.), and can ping internet domains, but both Netscape Navigator and IE refuse to see the internet (not to mention AIM, and every other internet app I try)

    Any ideas? I've attached screen shots of the pinging, IE's simple old "not displayed" error, and the Dynex Utility...BTW-don't make fun of my ping times-for some 15 mile away servers I can get as low as 25 ms most of the time :D I guess I can't argue with 60 and 70 anyways :D

    Thanks,

    Joe
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's try the easy stuff first.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 & Vista.

    For XP, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    For Vista, Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Oh, forgot that detail as this machine's not in my computer specs:

    It's an OLD Packard Bell
    233 MHz Original Pentium
    96 MB RAM
    Win 2000

    I'm assuming the XP steps will work fine on 2000 as well? I'm going to try it now anyways.
     
  4. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Oh...apparently not. I get the command was not found for both.

    Watching the Dynex monitor, it randomly gets and loses the internet, but always has the regular LAN.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Automated WINSOCK Fix all Windows Versions

    Also, let's see this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    here's this first-I currently do have internet on that machine-it's just not at all constant.

    Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>ipconfig /all

    Windows 2000 IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : stergis4
    Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dynex Wireless G Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-C9-EF-E7
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 18, 2007 10:24:51 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 19, 2007 10:24:48 AM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Cable Disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com EtherLink III ISA (3C509b-Combo
    )
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-24-91-88-0F

    C:\>
     

    Attached Files:

  7. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,070
    I noticed that your IP is 192.168.1.3. Typically what you want to do is create a pool of IP's starting from 100-200 (for example). Keep all your network devices such as routers, managed switches, printers, etc. in a range from 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.50. I would do this first off. Then release and renew all the machines.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, as long as your DHCP pool doesn't conflict with static addresses, there's no benefit to changing them. This is not the issue here, please don't muddy the waters with needless changes.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you done malware/spyware scans? Perhaps this is as simple as either malware or possibly a flaky adapter or cable?
     
  10. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    I like the 192.168.1.2-192.168.1.50 range (the one I'm using) better anyway-less confusing for me to remember and I've never had an issue.


    This is a fresh (3 day old) install of Win2k with just Office 2000 Pro, an old Netscape Navigator, and AIM for my sister to use. I ran an AVG scan and an Adaware 07 scan and found nothing.

    It's stayed up online for around 7 hours now, with a restart. I'll see what it does overnight and let you know.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'm starting to think along the lines of possible hardware issues...
     
  12. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Something in the beginning that I didn't mention

    I've got my wireless secred with WPA-PSK. Originally that didn't want to connect to it with WPA, so I changed it to WEP 128 Bit and it connected fine.

    Out of curiosity, shortly after I posted this thread, I changed it back to my original WPA-PSK and it connected and worked with the internet again. That might have been part of the problem at least. My sister says surfing around is a bit slower than any of the wired enet machines, but with a 233 MHz, I'm not surprised. She says it doesn't seem to drop. Now I've just got to pick up a slightly better machine, probably somewhere around a PIII with 256 MB RAM or something and replace it with that. I'm sure I can find one someplace.

    Only change I need to make for a wireless box is to make the logon script not run on startup. Because the machine doesn't connect to the network until after logon with win2k, the batch and VB scripts to map the drives and printers will fail, so I just tell her to double-click the desktop shortcut for it if she needs the network stuff.

    It seems to be behaving now in any case, I'll mark it solved.

    Thanks for the help :)
     
  13. jp1203

    jp1203 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Okay, given the machine has been acting just fine for almost two weeks now, I'm going to say this is officially solved.

    Thanks :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597113

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice