1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Macro in Excel help! Using CTRL+V inside a CTRL+F

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by theadventurer, Jun 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. theadventurer

theadventurer Thread Starter

Jun 25, 2012
    Hi all!
    I need help to use macros properly. It is my first attempt at doing this, and I don't understand what I am doing wrong.

I have found this thread which resembles my problem, but I still do not understand what to do

Basically, I have 2 Excel spreadsheets open.
    One is List A, the other is List B (Master List).

I have worker codes in List A, and have to find them in the B list to assign them a code (1) in column M.

What I did was go in my first spreadsheet, and selected the first worker code. Then, I started recording my Macro from there.
    Ctrl+C worker code
    Ctrl+Tab to second spreadsheet
    Ctrl+F to open find box
    Ctrl+V to paste the worker code copied from before
    Close the search box
    Cursor now over Worker code, Move over to column M by pressing the RIGHT arrow 12 times (from A to M)
    Type "1" and then Enter
    Ctrl+Tab to come back to first spreadsheet
    Down Arrow to move on to next worker code

However, the Macro looks like this :
    Cells.Find(What:="A4WL7CPA3BRX5", After:=ActiveCell, LookIn:=xlFormulas, _
    LookAt:=xlPart, SearchOrder:=xlByRows, SearchDirection:=xlNext, _
    MatchCase:=False, SearchFormat:=False).Activate
    Application.CutCopyMode = False
    ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "1"