1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Making sound bite

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by CSIlover, Feb 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CSIlover

    CSIlover Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Hi,

    I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction to learn how to make sound bites.

    I have music on my system that is mp3 and i want to use it for my pc sound scheme. You know, so when I turn on my system I hear that music piece.

    I have a notebook and I tried using sound recorder but I am not sure what I am doing.

    I can hear it play but when i try to add it to my sounds, an error comes up it may not be a valid sound file.

    What am I doing wrong? :rolleyes:

    Thank you. :D
     
  2. PCG342

    PCG342 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Okay, what format are you saving the audio clips in?
     
  3. CSIlover

    CSIlover Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    They're in mp3. I can't get it to play in my sound recorder but it plays on the realplayer fine. Sure, becuase it's an MP3.

    Thanks for the help! :eek:)
     
  4. PCG342

    PCG342 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    ... okay, open up your sound recorder, and your volume controls. Go to "Properties," click the Recording button, click OK, and check the box under "Stereo Mix" that says "Select."
    Next, open your MP3s in RealPlayer, adjust your volume, and record. You can use the "Edit" tools in Sound Recorder to cut out the "extra" stuff at the beginning and end.
    Then use Sound Recorder to save it as a .WAV file.

    ... it's just that simple. :p
     
  5. CSIlover

    CSIlover Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Hey,

    Ok, I got as far as clicking the recording button. I do not have a box that says stero mix?
    I do have 2 boxes that read line in and microphone, they are both checked. should they be?
     
  6. PCG342

    PCG342 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Hmm. Try opening sound recorder, clicking Edit>Audio Properties, then click the "Volume Controls" button in the recording box. [Middle, I think] If it's still not there, click options, and try selecting Advanced Controls.
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
  8. PCG342

    PCG342 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Does that record without having to make any settings changes? I only play with freeware when I need it, so I don't know of too much, unfortunately. :p
    If so, you've eliminated a step for him/her. Thanks.
    CSI, the main point is you MUST save it as a .WAV file.
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Trust Me .. Install Audacity and you'll use nothing else.
    Settings may depend on your specific sound driver.. but mostly chosen in audacity.
    some newer computers (like mine) use a different setting.
    There'll be a little learning curve here .. But Audacity is very popular here at TSG ...
    There'll be no shortage of help.

    It can export your "work" as a mp3 or wav... and record anything your computer can play.

    It's a safe/clean install.
     
  10. PCG342

    PCG342 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Well, you help them learn how to use it, and s[he] should be all set. Thanks again, Noyb.
     
  11. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I'll gladly help ... but I'll be down for short periods while I install and play with Vista on a second HD.
    I use a lot of freeware .. they better work w Vista.
     
  12. PCG342

    PCG342 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Haha... good luck with that. My machine is too outdated for Vista, but I'll probably upgrade...
    in three years or so.
     
  13. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    WavePad.
    You can preview effects before you apply them (which I like a lot), though it doesn't have as many, and it has a cleaner interface.

    Can you record line-out in Audacity?
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Not exactly .. but you can record anything going to "Line Out"
    Like I said .. It'll record anything your Computer can play ... or plugged in to line/mike in.
     
  15. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I expect to have problems .. And I don't expect to be disappointed.
    My 64bit VHP DVD is on order ... that ougta be fun.
    I don't plan on leaving WXP for a long time.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541294

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice