1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Mapped drives hidden in Windows XP Explorer

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jupton535, May 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jupton535

    jupton535 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    I have a XP Pro SP2 workstation that runs a login script that maps a few drives.
    When I look in my computer or in explorer they do no show up. If I go to disconnect a network drive they are all listed as connected. all shortcut's that use these mapped drives work.


    Any ideas
     
  2. renegade X

    renegade X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    Please copy and paste the info in your script here.
     
  3. jupton535

    jupton535 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Renegade
    Here is what the script looks like when it's running
    But this script runs on most of my users machines. and this user can log onto another machine without problems. It is machine specific

    Running Group Logon Script for IS
    Running Logon Script for jun2
    New connections will not be remembered

    Status Local Remote Network

    OK F: \\dcfile01\jun2 $ Microsoft Windows Network
    OK G: \\dcfile02\isc_g$ Microsoft Windows Network
    OK H: \\dcile02\hdrive$ Microsoft Windows Network
    N: \\dcfile04\ndrive$ Microsoft Windows Network
    OK P: \\dcfile02\pdrive$ Microsoft Windows Network
    T: \\dcfile02\tdrive$ Microsoft Windows Network
    OK Y: \\dcfile02\custful$ Microsoft Windows Network
    The command completed successfully
     
  4. Lpar

    Lpar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    682
    The dollar signs mean the drives are hidden. So you would have to go to My Computer>Tools>FolderOptions the view tab and click on show hidden files and folders.
     
  5. jupton535

    jupton535 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    I found out that it was a corrupt local user profile.
    I logged in as the local admin
    Copied the profile
    then deleted it.
    Then logged in as the user.
    I new profile was created. I then copied over the data from the corrupt profile
    and everything was cool
     
  6. renegade X

    renegade X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    AHHHH ya gotta love the easy ones. Please mark this as solved.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/468033

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice