Solved: Maxtor one touch ext. hard drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rik60

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
10
I have a Maxtor one touch ext. hard drive that I let my DVR format so I could save some movies I recorded. Now that I don't need the movies any longer, I wanted to use it for backing up computer files but the DVR format must have removed the original software that was put on it to make it function so now my computer won't recognize it as a hard drive. It tells me that the drivers are loaded but I cant access it. I have been to the Seagate sites and can only find drivers to download but I can't find copies of the setup software that originally came with it. It was given to me by a friend that also no longer has the software. Does anyone have any idea where I could find this software?
 

Rik60

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
10
Thanks for that response however, windows does not recognize the Maxtor as a drive of any kind, so therefore there is no way to format it that I know of. If you know of some way to get the format option to come up, that would be a great help.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Does Windows see anything at all when you attach it.
How do you attach it (USB, Parallel, etc.)?
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
So no device is listed in Device Manager or Disk Management? You did say the drivers were loaded, which by the way are included in Windows and no other drivers or software is required.

Can you post a screen shot of Disk Management?

Are you sure all the cables are securely plugged in? Have you tried other USB ports or another computer?
 

Rik60

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
10
It does not show up as a drive when you go into "MY COMPUTER" however it does show up as "Maxtor onetouch II USB devise" under disk drives in devise manager. It also says that the drivers are loaded but there is not any way to format the drive from devise manager that I can find. According to the person that gave me the disk drive, there was a cd that came with the Maxtor that had some sort of operating software on it, that had to be loaded but he no longer had that CD. I guess what I'm trying to find out is how to find that software. I have been to the Seagate and the have updates for the drivers and the "firmware" but they are just that,"UPDATES", not the original software so that doesn't help me.
 

Rik60

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
10
I have tried another computer and a different usb port...same problem though.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
679
Not sure about this, but maybe if you have partitioning software, it might recognize the drive. If the software has a formatting tool, you can then use it to format the drive, assuming it will work...
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Has it been partitioned?
It may be worth clearing everything and starting again even if it has already been done.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
It does not show up as a drive when you go into "MY COMPUTER" however it does show up as "Maxtor onetouch II USB devise" under disk drives in devise manager. It also says that the drivers are loaded but there is not any way to format the drive from devise manager that I can find. According to the person that gave me the disk drive, there was a cd that came with the Maxtor that had some sort of operating software on it, that had to be loaded but he no longer had that CD. I guess what I'm trying to find out is how to find that software. I have been to the Seagate and the have updates for the drivers and the "firmware" but they are just that,"UPDATES", not the original software so that doesn't help me.

Forget about My Computer. Forget about Device Manager. I have asked you to check Disk Management; that is where you go to partition and format drives. Have you gone to Disk Management, post a screen shot of Disk Management. I posted a link on how to get to it already.
 

Rik60

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
10
Triple6, Sorry, I'm not that computer savvy, I thought that "My Computer" was the disk management you were referring to. I have attempted to post a screen shot of that for you to look at. It appears to me that the "Disk 3" is the Maxtor but I don't know what to do from here. I'll wait to hear from you again before I attempt anything. Thanks again for the response.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Right click on each one of the two partitions on Disk 3 in the bottom window and choose "Delete Volume". Then once both partitions are gone, right click again and select "New Simple Volume" and go through the wizard; that should create a new Windows compatible partition, format it, and assign it a drive letter. Once that is done the drive should appear in My Computer and be usable again.
 

Rik60

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
10
Yes!! It work. Triple6 you are a real lifesaver. Thanks so much for your help on this. I really appreciate it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top