(Solved) McAfee Viruscan 6.01--can't keep it active

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Birdiemaker

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
15
I have recently installed McAfee Viruscan 6.01 after using 5.21 for quite a while with no problems. With 6.01, I can't keep the download scan, internet filter, e-mail scan, and system scan active. Sometimes I turn on my computer and the V-shield is totally X'd out--nothing running. Other times, just system scan runs and the others are not. I've tried everything I can think of. I'm running Me on a 950 mhz/AMD Athlon/256 MB. Any suggestions are appreciated. Birdiemaker
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,301
Hiya

Not a great Mcafee fan, but did you uninstall the older vesion before you installed the newer version?

I woudn't worry in just thinking its yours. We have ~1000 people where we work, and its always turned off. Puts great confidence in our IT. Luckily, I'm not in the team :p

Just jumping off subject then.

have you got the latest updates?

http://download.mcafee.com/updates/updates.asp?

Regards

eddie
 

Birdiemaker

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
15
hey-

Thanks for the reply, Eddie. I did uninstall the old version before installing the new one. You're right--it's not my problem. I found something in McAffee tech support that they pretty much admit to this problem. I found a registry editing solution to the problem and so far it seems to be working. No problems yet and my settings have remained enabled for a few days. If you or anybody else is interested in the fix, I have attached it. I didn't have the exact link, so here's a scanned copy.
 

Birdiemaker

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
15
hey-

Thanks for the reply, Eddie. I did uninstall the old version before installing the new one. You're right--it's not my problem. I found something in McAffee tech support that they pretty much admit to this problem. I found a registry editing solution to the problem and so far it seems to be working. No problems yet and my settings have remained enabled for a few days. If you or anybody else is interested in the fix, I have attached it. I didn't have the exact link, so here's a scanned copy. Hope it helps someone.

Birdiemaker
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,301
Hiya

Fraid you didn't attach it, but I would be very grateful in seeing it. Then, I can be all smarmy round our IT and say "this'll fix the problems"

eddie
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
18
I'd be interested in seeing the fix. I'm having the same problem. McAfee locks up on download - Their support won't even answer my e-mails
 

Birdiemaker

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
15
Sorry 'bout the unattached attachment guys. I couldn't get the file small enough for this program to accept it. Don't know much about different file types and their sizes and that stuff. But I got it for you now. Eddie, enjoy being smarmy around your IT.

Summary: This document contains instructions to keep VirusScan's settings enabled when you reboot your computer.
Settings Not Staying Enabled

Backup the Registry - Win 9x/ME
1. Click on the Start button.
2. Click on Run.
3. Type in REGEDIT then click on the OK button. The Registry Editor will then appear.
4. Click on the Registry pull-down menu then click on Export Registry File.
5. The Export Registry File dialog box will then appear. The top of this dialog box contains an option entitled Save In. Make sure 'Desktop' is selected for the Save In option. If it is not, click the pull-down arrow and select 'Desktop' from the list.
6. In the File Name field type 'Backup' (without the quotation marks).
7. In the Export Range group box make sure 'All' is selected.
8. Click on the Save button.


NOTE: If you need to restore the Registry you can double click on the 'Backup' file you created and it will be restored. However, once you have finished these instructions and are certain everything is working properly it is important to delete the 'Backup' file you created. Do this by right clicking on the Backup file on the desktop then left clicking on Delete from the pop-up menu that appears. This will ensure that the old registry is not accidentally restored once this process is complete.


Edit the Registry
Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersion
1. On the left side of the screen, double-click on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
2. Click the plus sign (+) next to Software.
3. Click the plus sign (+) next to Microsoft.
4. Click the plus sign (+) next to Windows.
5. Click the plus sign (+) next to CurrentVersion.
6. Locate the 'Run' and 'RunServices' folders.
7. Single click on 'RunServices'.
8. In there (on the right side of the screen) is a reference to McAfeeVirusScanService. Double click on it.
9. An 'Edit String' window will appear with the line of text highlighted. Right click on the text and select 'copy'
10. Click the OK button.
11. Press the Delete key on your keyboard.
12. Click Yes to delete the value.
13. Go to the 'Run' folder, and on the right-hand screen, right-click anywhere in the white space and choose 'New String Value'.
14. Right click on 'New Value #1' and select rename.
15. Name it 'McAfeeVirusScanService' (Just like the one you just deleted in RunServices)
16. Double click on 'McAfeeVirusScanService' that you just created.
17. In the value data box, right click on the white field and choose 'paste'.
18. Click OK.
19. The data column should have C:program FilesMcAfeeMcAfee VirusScanAvsynmgr.exe in it.

Close the registry Editor and reboot your computer to effect the change.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,301
Thanks for that.

I'll word the email and send it to them. What will the reply be: Mind your own ******* buisness. :D

eddie
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
18
Thancks for the Grisoft virus protection link. I downloaded it and found it to be better than McAfee on first use. If it continues as well I will trash McAfee. All the instruction on how to get McAfee to run right seems to be a whole lot of trouble just to get an application that I paid good money for to work correctly. And it took so long for them to bet back to my repeated e-mails.

I'm going to recommend it to friends.

You live and learn.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2000
Messages
197
avg is so much better than any other anti virus program that I dont know how they manage to give it away free
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top