1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: McAffee update; then trouble!!

Discussion in 'General Security' started by agymof, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. agymof

    agymof Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,
    While on my lap top, (working in excel, MS Outlook open but not the internet) McAffee loaded an update and then required me to restart my computer. I closed out of the programs I was running and restarted my computer. During the start up I received a message "RPC Remote Process... was terminated unexpectedly... you must restart. SO I restarted again.

    I restarted and then got the message "igfx tray module has encountered a problem and must close." I think I just hit ok.

    Then the message "system is shutting down: initiated by NT authority systems DCOM Server Process Launcher terminated unexpectedly." A timer started counting down and it restarted itself...

    Then once it rebooted and before the start menu or task bars could load, it gave the same message and started the timer to restart again. I let it restart and then got the message

    "even monitor user notification has encountered a problem and has to close..." I think I just hit ok. I tried so send an error report.

    then got the messgage that BT TRay was unable to start bluetooth... when I tried to send that error report.

    I cannot open windows explorer to download the software you all are talking about to allow me to display error logs etc...

    I tried opening excel and it opens but shuts down with a message I did not write down but something to the effect that it encountered a problem...

    I am able to open the task manager and of the many processes listed, the "hpqimzone.exe" process is chewing up 39%-49% of the CPU. Don't know what that is or why but thought it might be helpful.

    During one of the restarts I hit the ESC key and did one of those system start tests and no issues were revealed. I can't get anywhere on the computer to do anything...

    I also received and have not responded to the latest message..."Quick launch Buttons has encountered a problem and needs to close...I am holding off sending an error report

    Right now the task manager says that I am running "error reporting" and BTTray. The processes running are only the hpqimzone.exe and system idle. with 45-51% of the CPU used...

    I sure hope some of this helps. I am a bit hamstrung since I can't go online and download any of the software you all are talking about.

    Thanks!
     
  2. NeonFx

    NeonFx Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    You should contact McAfee. Their support is free of charge and only they know what they did in this latest update:

    http://service.mcafee.com/TechSupportHome.aspx?lc=1033&sg=TS


    It forces you to download this "Virtual Technician" program but you can pretend to download it, then cancel the download and click on "Chat and email" on the left hand side.
     
  3. agymof

    agymof Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    thanks. they are experiencing a high call volume and no mention on the forum board of this issue as of yet. These symptoms sound a lot like other reports from today on this help site as if it were a virus and no one else has mentioned McAfee so I was not sure that it was related. Sure is coincidental though.
     
  4. agymof

    agymof Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    after a very long wait, McAfee says the issue is on their end and they will fix it within 6 to 8 hours. I don't understand how they can install an update on my computer if it can't connect to the internet or open ANY programs? I hope I can close this in 6 hours! thanks!
     
  5. NeonFx

    NeonFx Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    They'll probably have you download a standalone version of a fix and have you transfer it over using a flash drive if they don't walk you through how to fix it manually.


    Goodluck :)
     
  6. agymof

    agymof Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    thanks! just hearing that it might be possible gives me great comfort.
     
  7. NeonFx

    NeonFx Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918362

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice