Solved: McAffee update; then trouble!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

agymof

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4
Hello,
While on my lap top, (working in excel, MS Outlook open but not the internet) McAffee loaded an update and then required me to restart my computer. I closed out of the programs I was running and restarted my computer. During the start up I received a message "RPC Remote Process... was terminated unexpectedly... you must restart. SO I restarted again.

I restarted and then got the message "igfx tray module has encountered a problem and must close." I think I just hit ok.

Then the message "system is shutting down: initiated by NT authority systems DCOM Server Process Launcher terminated unexpectedly." A timer started counting down and it restarted itself...

Then once it rebooted and before the start menu or task bars could load, it gave the same message and started the timer to restart again. I let it restart and then got the message

"even monitor user notification has encountered a problem and has to close..." I think I just hit ok. I tried so send an error report.

then got the messgage that BT TRay was unable to start bluetooth... when I tried to send that error report.

I cannot open windows explorer to download the software you all are talking about to allow me to display error logs etc...

I tried opening excel and it opens but shuts down with a message I did not write down but something to the effect that it encountered a problem...

I am able to open the task manager and of the many processes listed, the "hpqimzone.exe" process is chewing up 39%-49% of the CPU. Don't know what that is or why but thought it might be helpful.

During one of the restarts I hit the ESC key and did one of those system start tests and no issues were revealed. I can't get anywhere on the computer to do anything...

I also received and have not responded to the latest message..."Quick launch Buttons has encountered a problem and needs to close...I am holding off sending an error report

Right now the task manager says that I am running "error reporting" and BTTray. The processes running are only the hpqimzone.exe and system idle. with 45-51% of the CPU used...

I sure hope some of this helps. I am a bit hamstrung since I can't go online and download any of the software you all are talking about.

Thanks!
 

NeonFx

Malware Specialist
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
4,811
You should contact McAfee. Their support is free of charge and only they know what they did in this latest update:

http://service.mcafee.com/TechSupportHome.aspx?lc=1033&sg=TS


It forces you to download this "Virtual Technician" program but you can pretend to download it, then cancel the download and click on "Chat and email" on the left hand side.
 

agymof

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4
thanks. they are experiencing a high call volume and no mention on the forum board of this issue as of yet. These symptoms sound a lot like other reports from today on this help site as if it were a virus and no one else has mentioned McAfee so I was not sure that it was related. Sure is coincidental though.
 

agymof

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4
after a very long wait, McAfee says the issue is on their end and they will fix it within 6 to 8 hours. I don't understand how they can install an update on my computer if it can't connect to the internet or open ANY programs? I hope I can close this in 6 hours! thanks!
 

NeonFx

Malware Specialist
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
4,811
They'll probably have you download a standalone version of a fix and have you transfer it over using a flash drive if they don't walk you through how to fix it manually.


Goodluck :)
 

agymof

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4
thanks! just hearing that it might be possible gives me great comfort.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top