1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: McAffee Virus Scan Won't Install

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Mocha1219, Dec 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mocha1219

    Mocha1219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Hello:

    We just purchased a new HP Pavillion a1647c desktop PC from Costco..

    The Op Sys is Windows XP. AMD Athlon Dual Core 64 bit, 1024 MB ram..

    It came with Norton antivirus software..I would like to install McAfee antivirus software..

    I went to control panel / Add or Remove prgrams and uninstalled Norton Antivirus. It no longer shows up in the list of installed programs.

    When I try to install McAfee antivirus I get the following error message:

    The VirusScan v7.0 installer exitied with the folowing message.

    Norton v12.0.5.3 is installed.

    So the Norton uninstall left something that is preventing installation of McAfee.

    Thanks very much for any help you can provide..

    -Bill
     
  2. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,451
  3. Mocha1219

    Mocha1219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Downloaded and ran the Norton uninstaller tool..

    Still unable to install McAfee virus scan.. Same error message as before.

    The VirusScan v7.0 installer exitied with the folowing message.

    Norton v12.0.5.3 is installed.

    -Bill
     
  4. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    You probably also have PC Help & tools? If you do, try the application recovery to re-install NOrtON. After it is installed, uninstall live update, uninstall NOrtON, then check Add/Remove programs once more for any Symantec entries and remove them if necessary. Then search computer for NOrtON, delete files. Then search computer for Symantec, delete files. Install McAfee and look for a registry repair utility. I use CCleaner as I am a beginner and this is a "soft" repair utility. They also have an excellent site for support on using the program and will go out of their way to help you. It also gives you the option to save a back-up of your registry in case of problems, which is highly recommended.
     
  5. Mocha1219

    Mocha1219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Well. After about 10 hours of my time invested, I came to the conclusion that HP and Symantec have decided to configure the computer so that only the NORTON anti virus software can be installed.. I already have McAfee with updates and do not want to switch to Norton anti virus.. I also have a fundamental problem with being forced to use a particular software tool. So I sanitized the hard drive and returned the computer.

    Lesson learned.. Don't buy a computer from HP/Compaq..
     
  6. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,451
    I think you made a good decision! (y)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/528530